Cucumber, and zucchini, and kohlrabi! Oh my!

I love Thursdays. Especially this summer because every Thursday I get to go pick up a box full of fresh produce from a local farm. The pick-up location happens to be at one of my favorite vegetarian restaurants in town, so sometimes I go a bit early to get one of their scrumptious baked goods. This week I tried their vegan chocolate chip peanut butter bar. Yum!

By the time I finished my snack the veggies were ready for pickup, so I happily collected my bounty and headed out the door. I am so glad that my mom found out about this CSA and signed us up. Now all summer while I am home I will be able to go pick up the wonderful box full of veggies!

And each week our box is full of a different variety of produce, which I love, because every time you open it up you are in for a surprise. Nothing like a good old mystery veggie box!

This week we had green onions, a salad mix, radishes, an english cucumber, zucchini, kohlrabi, garlic scapes, green beans and a tomato.  I decided to use the beans, onions, and zucchini to make a stir-fried veggie wrap with peanut sauce. It was delicious!

And for lunch the next day I had a wonderful salad using the salad mix, onions, cucumber and tomato. Then I added a bit of cottage cheese, avocado, some craisins and balsamic vinegar dressing to top it off.  Served with a side of toasted sourdough english muffin. Yum.

If you look close at this picture you can see my kitty’s face poking over the table, she was hungry too!

Have a great day!

Drink some water,

Sydney

One thought on “Cucumber, and zucchini, and kohlrabi! Oh my!

Leave a Reply

