Cold Oatmeal is the New Warm Oatmeal

3 days until I am off to NJ. I cannot believe how fast this summer has gone by! For my last night at my Mom’s house we made homemade zucchini spaghetti, garlic bread and a fresh veggie salad with watermelon on the side. Sorry I don’t have any pictures, we ate it before I could snap any. It was so good that I’ll be making the zucchini spaghetti again, and then I’ll post the recipe! It was a fun variation of regular spaghetti, veggies instead of grains for the base!

After dinner we watched an episode of Gilmore Girls. Man I love that show. It’s so hilarious. Makes me wish I lived in Stars Hollow. Anyway, after the show I whipped up breakfast for the next day. It took about five minutes, and the end result was delicious.

Mango Raspberry Overnight Oats

This recipe is versatile and oh so simple. I decided to try a fruit variety first, but I also saw a pumpkin pie version that I am dying to try! Overnight oats are great for many reasons. But I love that you can make it the night before so it’s rtg (ready to go) when you wake up in the morning. Eat it at home or even bring it to work. The mason jar it’s made in makes the perfect vessel for transport.

At the very end I added additional raspberries and some shaved coconut on top. Delectable.

I can’t wait to experiment with all different flavors of overnight oats out in NJ. When I get there I’m going to have to go shopping for some more mason jars :) It really is a perfectly nutritious and satisfying breakfast.

Mango Raspberry Overnight Oats

Adapted from Raspberry Vanilla Refrigerator Oatmeal

1/4 cup instant oats

1/3 cup vanilla almond milk

1/4 cup mango greek yogurt

1 1/2 tsp chia seeds

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

1/3 fresh or frozen raspberries

1 tsp shaved coconut

To make this little jar of joy, simply combine the first five ingredients in a one-cup mason jar, put on lid, and shake until combined. Then re-open the jar, add in the raspberries and stir gently until incorporated. To finish it off I added a few raspberries on top and sprinkled some coconut shavings on as well. Place in refrigerator the night before and when you wake up breakfast will await you.

Note: This recipe makes quite the dainty little portion, the next time I will probably make 1 1/2 or 2 times the amount.

Let’s Shall,

Sydney

Leave a Reply

