Trash and a Kitty

Over the past week I have been enjoying walking around my neighborhood and getting to know the area a little better. On practically every street corner there is some type of food venue where I’d love to stop and eat. Whether it is a restaurant, cafe, or market, the options are endless. But alas, my budget is not, so I am diligently taking mental note of all the places I hope to one day try.

I have stopped at a few of the local establishments, however, and I thought I’d share what I’ve seen so far!

This picture is especially for Dad, Beth and my sister. Notice anything unusual in the background?

Yes, I am eating with trash. Ironically it wasn’t the trash that turned me off to this place though, it was the iced chai I ordered which was a bit pricey and not all that outstanding.

Another place I’ve tried, the beloved local favorite Wonder Bagels, did not have waste lying around. They had a kitty!

Here she is hanging out underneath my chair. So cute.

And friendly too! Wonder Bagels will definitely see me again. Seriously delicious bagels, and a friendly critter that adds to the ambiance.

Of course I have been cooking at home as well. There are so many recipes I want to try that I can’t keep up with my Pinterest! But last night my brother and I were able to check 2 recipes off my list. It was our first Sunday night dinner cooking extravaganza. Perhaps in the future it will be formally established as the Real Food Club. But until then, we’ll focus on the food! And guess what? Things turned out great. Sunday night dinners may be my new favorite thing. On the menu this week was BBQ Tempeh Burgers with Tangy Greens and Vegetable Baked Ziti (more to come soon for the Ziti).

DSCN1533

It may not be the most appetizing burger you’ve ever seen, but boy was it delicious. I really do have to figure out this whole indoor lighting thing…The tempeh had a unique, chewy texture with a subtle nutty flavor which I loved. Combine that with the sweet BBQ sauce and tangy greens and you’ve got yourself the perfect meat-free burger!

BBQ Tempeh Burgers with Tangy Greens

Serves 3

Recipe adapted from The Chic Life

One 8 oz. package of tempeh, cut into thin 1/4 inch strips

3/4 cup of your favorite BBQ sauce

2 tsps olive oil

1/4 cup diced onions

3 oz. fresh spinach, about 3 big handfuls

1/4 cup water

1 tbsp apple cider vinegar

Start by slicing the tempeh and combining it with the BBQ sauce in a bowl until the tempeh is well-coated. Set aside the tempeh so it can marinate in the sauce for about 10 minutes while you cook the greens. To make the greens, add 1 tsp of olive oil to a skillet and turn to medium heat. When the pan is ready, add in onions and cook for a few minutes (about 3) before adding in the spinach. Once the spinach is in the skillet, add the water as well, and cook for a few more minutes, stirring occasionally (and until the spinach is wilted). When the spinach has wilted, add the apple cider vinegar and cook for one more minute. Then keep the skillet on low to keep the greens warm while you cook the tempeh in another skillet.

The tempeh is very easy to cook. Simply put the other tsp of olive oil in a skillet over medium heat, add the BBQ coated tempeh, and cook for 4 minutes on each side. To finish, place the tangy greens on the bun and pile high with the BBQ tempeh. Enjoy!

Read Mountains Beyond Mountains by Tracy Kidder,

Sydney

Leave a Reply

