What’s a Cookbook?

I realized a few days ago when talking with one of my Aunts that I don’t even own a cookbook. She knows I am a vegetarian and do a lot of cooking besides the recipes I post on the blog, so she was wondering if I could tell her the titles of a few of my favorite cookbooks.  Cookbook? Say what? That’s when it hit me that I don’t even own a cookbook! However, with the Internet at my fingertips I have instantaneous access to all the recipes I could ever want and then some.

Seriously, right at my fingertips. Essentially I’ve spent my time browsing food blogs and websites instead of browsing the cooking section of a local bookstore.

This conversation kind of made me want to buy a cookbook though. It really would be nice to have a tangible, organized copy of some of my favorite recipes.

I suppose I could print off like a thousand recipes to hold on to, but then that creates the issue of storing a thousand stray recipes…Anyway, to make a long story short, I sent my Aunt a copious amount of links to my favorite food sites. But if anyone has an actual vegetarian or healthy eating cookbook they’d like to share with me please do!

Before writing this today I had already cooked a meal, with a recipe from the Internet of course. I had made Coconut Curry Quinoa with a side of Pumpkin Dijon Sautéed Kale.

My plate was literally glowing. It was that good.

The Coconut Curry Quinoa had a mild coconut and curry taste, which allowed the natural taste of the vegetables, grains and beans to shine through. It was the perfect pairing of flavors. And the Pumpkin Dijon Kale. Amazing. Probably the simplest and tastiest kale I’ve ever had. I think it was the tiny kick of heat from the dijon mustard along with the sweet crunchy onion bites that made this combo work!

Oh, and to drink I found this fresh ginger, ginger ale at the market. So glad I bought it. I have been loving anything ginger lately, and this Pomegranate with Hibiscus Ginger Ale was delicious. Super refreshing with a little tang.

The fact that it was made here in New York made it all that much better!

Coconut Curry Quinoa

Serves 5

Recipe adapted from Pinch Of Yum

1 can of coconut milk

4-5 tbsp thai red curry sauce from Trader Joe’s

2 small heads of broccoli, chopped

1 large carrot, chopped

1 can of garbanzo beans, rinsed and drained

1/2 tablespoon of whole wheat flour

1 cup of quinoa (uncooked)

Begin with making the quinoa. Simply follow the cooking instructions on the package, and while the quinoa is cooking begin the coconut curry. For the coconut curry, start by sautéing the broccoli and carrots in a tbsp of olive oil over medium heat for a couple of minutes. Make sure to use a large skillet, in the end you will add most of the ingredients to this one pan. After the broccoli and carrots have been cooking for a few minutes add in the can of coconut milk and continue to simmer for about 8 minutes. Then, add in the thai red curry sauce  and stir, then add in the garbanzo beans and stir again. Now bring the mixture to a slight boil and add in the flour. Continue boiling for about one minute, then remove from heat. As dish cools, the sauce will thicken.

Pumpkin Dijon Sautéed Kale

Serves 1 (as a side dish)

4-5 stalks of leafy kale, remove stems and chop

1/8 cup yellow onion, chopped

1 tsp olive oil

1tsp dijon mustard

1 tsp pumpkin puree

To prepare the kale, heat a medium skillet with the olive oil over medium-low heat. Once ready, add the chopped kale and onions to the skillet. Cook for about three minutes allowing the kale and onions to soften. Then add in the mustard and pumpkin and stir thoroughly to incorporate to all leaves of kale. Continue cooking for about another 3-4 minutes, or until the kale has wilted to your liking. Serve warm and enjoy!

Let the ginger be ever in your favor,

Sydney

Leave a Reply

