Spicy Citrus Tofu Burrito with Cilantro Lime Quinoa

Hello, and happy Thursday to you all! After spending approximately 1000 hours over the last day and a half searching for jobs and paid internships online, I thought I’d take a break. A wonderful, glorious blog writing break! Too bad I can’t find work blogging. All of the positions I found related to food and healthy living blogging were unfortunately unpaid positions. Sad. I even found internships working with the Food Network! Which would be completely amazing, but alas they too were unpaid.

So in the meantime while I wait to hear back (with my fingers crossed) from the places I did apply to, I’ll treat you to another delicious and nutritious meal. Spicy Citrus Tofu Burrito with Cilantro Lime Quinoa.

The Cilantro Lime Quinoa was the bulk of my burrito, and boy was it tasty!

With creamy avocado, sweet mango and some red pepper strips, this burrito was delectable. You may have noticed avocado appearing in a few recipes lately. And I am taking the time right now to forewarn you that in the near future it may be showcased again.

I apologize if avocado is not your thing. But out here on the East Coast they are pretty cheap, and since they are a great source of healthy fat and fiber I can’t seem to help myself.

Check out the lovely close-up of the seasoned triangular tofu bits. So good! One of my favorite parts of cooking with tofu is the slicing and dicing part. I love that you can cut/chop tofu into any shape you want.

Personally, I prefer geometric shapes. I’d say I tend to go with isosceles triangles and the good ol’ 30, 60, 90 triangle most of the time.  See, math can be fun.

But for those of you who are disgusted by the mere mention of math and are just about to go up to the corner of your screen and ‘x’ out of my page, simply crumble the tofu to bits so it looks like scrambled eggs. Problem solved. No defined shape whatsoever. Pretend it never happened.

Spicy Citrus Tofu Burrito

Serves 2

Recipes adapted from Healthy Happy Life

8 oz. extra firm tofu

1/4 tsp chili powder

1/4 tsp ginger (powdered)

A sprinkle of salt

Lime juice, as much as you like!

2 whole wheat wraps

1/2 cup chopped mango

1/2 avocado, sliced

1/2 red bell pepper, sliced

To prepare the tofu, start by extracting all the excess water out of the tofu. Simply place the tofu between kitchen towels, and place something heavy from your kitchen on top of the tofu. Let sit for 10 minutes, and by then the towels will have absorbed most of the water. Then proceed to cut and slice your tofu however you like. Heat a skillet sprayed with non-stick spray on medium heat, and sauté the tofu about 2 minutes on each side. Add half the seasonings and lime juice to the tofu when you are cooking the first side, then when you flip the tofu add the second half of the seasonings and lime juice. When the tofu is done it will be golden and a little crispy on the outside. When assembling the burrito, add whatever toppings you’d like! The mango, avocado and pepper combo was great.

Cilantro Lime Quinoa

Serves 3

1/2 cup quinoa

2/3 cup chopped kale

1/4 cup chopped cilantro

Juice from 1/2 a lime

To prepare the quinoa, follow the directions on the package. Once quinoa is cooked, add in the kale, cilantro, and lime juice. Stir to combine and enjoy! Note: if you would prefer softer, wilted kale instead of chewier, fresh kale, simply add the chopped kale to the quinoa while it is simmering for the 10-15 minutes waiting for the water to be absorbed.

Take a chance on me (and by ‘me’ I mean this tofu recipe),

Sydney

Leave a Reply

