Random Eats and Treats

I hope everyone has had a wonderful start to their week this fine August Monday! Can you believe next Monday will be September already!? While on one hand it’s seems like time has flown by and another summer has escaped me, on the other hand I do have to say I am looking forward to fall. I’m already getting an itch for pumpkin and sweet potato and squash recipes. Pumpkin Macaroni and cheese anyone? Sweet potato and curried lentils? Or how about butternut squash and goat cheese pizza? I can hardly contain myself.

Today I went back and forth on which recipe I should post, and in the end I couldn’t decide so I thought I’d keep it simple and show you some of the wonderful things I’ve had lately. Maybe recently you’ve had some fun foods too!

This was a delicious ‘Un-turkey’ Salad Sandwich I got from a local organic cafe. Yum!

Last week at the Farmer’s Market I got this naturally sweetened classic lemonade drink. Lemons and agave were the only two ingredients! It was very refreshing with the perfect amount of tartness and sweetness.

This summer was the first time I can remember trying a nectarine. It is a shame that I have deprived myself of this glorious fruit for so long. Now every time I go to the Farmer’s Markets it is the first thing I look for :) I think it is safe to say nectarines may be my new favorite fruit.

Talk about a luscious snack combo. Fruit and nuts. Specifically homemade raisins and pistachios.

Salads are definitely a staple in my apartment. Whatever veggies, grains and proteins I have I love combining in a salad concoction. This one only had veggies, spinach, yellow zucchini, cherry tomatoes and balsamic vinegar, but it was still very delicious!

After meeting with some fellow MPHers for coffee one evening last week, I was starving by the time I was on my way home. Luckily for me there was The Cinnamon Snail food truck waiting for me en route. A vegan, organic food truck that travels the city and offers great sandwiches and baked goods. I had a Maple Mustard Tempeh sandwich that was very good. I am going to try and re-create that one at home!

This morning I treated myself to homemade pancakes! I don’t normally make pancakes from scratch so this was definitely a treat for me. Whole wheat yogurt pancakes topped with some almond butter and agave made it sweet as can be. Served with a side of banana of course. See this link to one of my favorite blogs for the recipe. All I modified was that I replaced the single egg in the recipe with a chia egg (1 tbsp chia seeds in 3 tbsp of water that sits aside for 10 minutes to form a thick gel).

I love me some potassium,

Sydney

2 thoughts on “Random Eats and Treats

Leave a Reply

