Blended Overnight Oats

Check out these lovely libros.

I don’t think I have ever been so excited to pick up my textbooks. Nutrition, Epidemic City, Social Determinants of Health and Plagues and Peoples. I cannot wait to start school. One week from today!

Until then, I will be furiously cooking and baking away trying to figure out the healthiest, quickest, tastiest and portable’ist’ (or most portable) meals that I can take along with me to campus. I think I am definitely solid on the whole breakfast front though, seeing as breakfast is probably my favorite meal and the options are endless.

For example, take the classic overnight oats one step further by blending them in the morning, and you’ve got yourself another version of heaven. Hello light, frothy and  creamy dreamy oat smoothie!

Behold BOO. Or Blended Overnight Oats. Absolutely scrumptious.

This time I didn’t get too crazy with ingredients since it was my first attempt and I wanted to be sure it turned out edible, but next time I’m going all out. I think a blueberry nectarine BOO with crystallized ginger may be in store!

It’s a seriously delicious, quick and easy breakfast dish once again :) You guys have got to try this. And don’t be scared, add in whatever fruit and seasonings you like. Maybe chocolate peanut butter banana? Pumpkin pie? Or how about a tropical mango berry coconut BOO? Oooooh, I’ve got lots to look forward to!

Classic BOO

Serves 1

Adapted from Kath Eats Real Food

1/2 cup instant oats

1/2 cup soy milk

1 tbsp chia seeds

1 very ripe banana

Dash of cinnamon

Teensy bit of vanilla extract

To prepare this recipe, simply add all ingredients to a blender, stir, and leave in refrigerator overnight. When you wake up, add about 1/4 cup more soy milk to make it easier to blend and blend away. I topped mine with peanut butter and my mom’s homemade granola. Top with whatever fixin’s you’d like! Also, this recipe can easily be doubled, tripled, etc. for more hungry morning friends!

I love acronyms,

Sydney

2 thoughts on “Blended Overnight Oats

Leave a Reply

