Oh, Hey Brooklyn

So I guess it was bound to happen. Some people say it’s a part of the initiation process. But I thought I may bypass it, I felt naturally savvy at navigating public transportation. I’ve lived in and traveled around NYC for a little over a month and I’ve never had an issue. And then last night happened. Ha!

I was on my way to a film screening in Manhattan for this new documentary about healthcare in America which looked absolutely amazing! After the show there was a scheduled Q&A session with the filmmakers themselves and a number of influential individuals in the healthcare field. And after that, a wine bar and mingling. Did I mention that I got a free ticket to attend!? I was wearing my blazer and had heels ready to go in my bag, I was prepared for a lovely evening! Sounds perfect, right? Well, maybe it would have been if I made it there.

Alas, my navigation skills did indeed fail me, and I succumbed to the cruel initiation process of learning the NYC public transportation system. Basically, I got on the wrong subway. And here’s how it all went down.

After I had finished class for the day I walked to the nearest subway station. I waited a few minutes and then boarded the subway which I thought would take me north in Manhattan, a straight shot up to 47th street. So when 20 minutes had passed, I started getting a little antsy. According to google maps it should only have taken about 15 minutes to get to my stop. But, what is five extra minutes I thought?

And then, I saw this.

Daylight? Blue skies? I was so confused. I was on a subway that should have remained underground in the dark, unbearably hot and sticky tunnels.

I tried justifying this sighting to myself, maybe I looked at the map wrong and this subway line does go above ground for a portion of the trip…I wasn’t really convincing myself though, and what I saw next only confirmed my belief that I was unfortunately not heading into Manhattan.

 Yes, that’s right. Water. Lots and lots of water. And for those of you not familiar with the geographical layout of Manhattan, you will never cross a large body of water on a subway when going from one end of the city to the other. No, you really won’t.

Needless to say, I was headed to Brooklyn! I quickly came to terms with the fact that there was no way I’d be making it to the film screening. By the time I could get off the subway in Brooklyn and get all the way back up to where I needed to be in Manhattan it would be too late. I was bummed, but what could I do? I decided to have as much fun as I could with my spontaneous trip to Brooklyn and took pictures to document the occasion.

See the big red circle with the ‘you are here’ arrow? That’s me in Brooklyn. Now look to the left of the map, and you can see the East River separating me from lower Manhattan.

The rest of my photos didn’t turn out so great, but the most important ones documenting this mini adventure did so I can’t complain.

I ended up getting back home earlier than I thought I would have if I had attended the film screening, so I had some free time in my schedule. And what did I do with that free time you ask? I baked Pumpkin Muffins with Cranberries and Candied Ginger. It’s safe to say that the evening turned out nothing like I’d planned, but that was okay because I got to eat these!

So delicious. Vegan too!

Crack one of them open and see all the hidden glory inside! Yum yum.

Pumpkin Muffins with Cranberries and Candied Ginger

Makes 6  muffins

Recipe inspired by Healthy Happy Life

1 cup whole wheat flour

A sprinkle of salt

1/2 tbsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 cup canned pumpkin

1/8 cup almond milk

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tbsp apple cider vinegar

1/8 cup agave syrup

1 flax egg (combine  1 tsp of flax seeds with 1/8 cup water and let sit for five minutes until it thickens to a gel-like texture)

1/3 cup applesauce

1/3 cup dried cranberries

1/8 cup, finely chopped candied ginger

To make these muffins, start by preheating the oven to 350 degrees and lining a muffin tin with six muffin cups. Make your flax egg right away as well and set it aside so it can thicken while you prepare the rest of the muffins. Next, combine all the dry ingredients (the flour, salt, baking powder, cinnamon and brown sugar) in a large mixing bowl. Then add in the pumpkin, almond milk, vanilla extract, apple cider vinegar, agave syrup, flax egg and applesauce and stir to combine. Fold in the dried cranberries and candied ginger, and then fill up the muffin cups with the mixture. Put in the oven for about 20-25 minutes, or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean. Enjoy!

Just laugh,

Sydney

3 thoughts on “Oh, Hey Brooklyn

Leave a Reply

