Pumpkin Goat’s Cheese Mac N’ Cheese

Yes, I am going to post about pumpkin again. I won’t apologize though, because pumps are finally in season and I want to be sure to fully take advantage of this heavenly produce while I can!

Here’s a sneak peak of of the finished product.

But before I get to the recipe I just have to share a few more of my favorite pumpkin finds of the season.

First, Pumpkin Cereal Bars from Trader Joe’s.

I’ve put one in my backpack a few times to eat as a snack during class to hold me over until dinner.  I found them pretty tasty for a cereal bar.

Second, oh my gosh I cannot believe my luck, all the stars aligned and let me discover pumpkin frozen yogurt! Yes. Yum. Delish.

I’m not really sure what ‘fist’ pumpkin is…but I don’t really care! This stuff was amaaaazing!

The closest thing I’ve found out East compared to the glorious pumpkin concrete mixers from Culver’s back home.

And third, pumpkin donut holes from Dunkin’ Donuts. I’ve been waiting for these seasonal treats to come out again ever since I had them for the first time a year ago while visiting my brother. Ahhhh, just how I remember them. Absolutely delicious and in no way nutritious.

As you can see it’s been a good week for me. And although I love me some pumpkin treats, I also love using pumpkin in healthier main dishes too. And that is exactly what the Pumpkin Goat’s Cheese Mac N’ Cheese is.

Out of this world, thick, creamy, cozy and comforting mac n’ cheese.

The rich pumpkin and goat’s cheese sauce is complimented perfectly by the hint of chili powder, and the sweetness from the curry powder. Absolutely delectable.

Pumpkin Goat’s Cheese Mac N’ Cheese

Serves 3-4

Recipe adapted from The Diva Dish

1 1/2 cups dry whole wheat penne pasta (or pasta of your choice)

1 cup pumpkin puree

1/2 cup + 2 tbsp of almond milk

2 tsp minced garlic

3 tbsp roasted garlic hummus

2 tbsp instant oats

1 tbsp whole wheat flour

1 1/2 tsp chili powder

1/2 tsp curry powder

1 tsp dijon mustard

2 tbsp non-dairy butter

1/3 cup goat’s cheese

Making this dish is easy, quick and delicious. Start by cooking your pasta according to the package directions.

While the pasta is cooking, make the sauce by simply combining the pumpkin, milk, garlic, hummus, oats, flour, seasonings and mustard in a large mixing bowl. Once the sauce has been made, heat a medium sauce pan on low and add the pumpkin sauce, non-dairy butter and goat’s cheese and stir until ingredients have melted, combined, and are heated through (about five minutes).

Your pasta will probably be done cooking by now. So once you have drained the pasta pour it into a casserole dish, top with pumpkin sauce and stir to coat. Make sure all the noodles are covered by the creamy sauce, you don’t want to leave any noodle out. Serve and enjoy!

Go put on your leg warmers,

Sydney

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Goat’s Cheese Mac N’ Cheese

Leave a Reply

