Special Delivery

So the other day I was sitting at my kitchen table with my laptop open to an SPSS dataset and six weeks of Biostatistics notes spread all over the place. I was trying to complete my midterm project, which I had already been working on for about six hours longer than I thought I would, when the doorbell rang. At that point I was glad for any distraction, but was even more excited when I realized it was a special delivery.

Yes, that’s right, it was a HUGE box of Chobani Yogurt. The lovely people over at Chobani sent me six of their 16 oz. blended yogurts and eight of their new 5.3 oz. Flips to sample.

Some of these flavors I’ve had before (like the mango, pineapple, and black cherry), but the others (peach, blueberry, vanilla chocolate chunk, and both the Flips) were brand new to me and I could not wait to try them!

Yum!

After trying both of the Flips, it was the Vanilla Chocolate Chip with Raspberry Flip that won my heart. It had the perfect amount of sweetness and  a hint of chocolate. So delicious! I’m sure these will end up in my shopping cart in the future.

As for the Honey Banana Flip, it was just okay to me. I really liked the honey yogurt part, but the banana mix in portion I didn’t care for as much. It was very sweet, a little too sweet for me.

With the blended yogurts I decided to put them to use in some baked goods! Mixed berry muffins sounded swell to me, so I decided to use the blueberry and black cherry yogurts in the mix. They turned out great!

Classes were cancelled for today and we thankfully still have power so I decided to bake these muffins right away. I’m not going to let Sandy get in the way of me and my baking, no siree. To all of you on the East Coast be safe, and prep some food while you can!

Mixed Berry Muffins

Makes 8

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 tbsp baking powder

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup black cherry Chobani yogurt

1/2 cup blueberry Chobani yogurt

1/8 cup almond milk

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tbsp apple cider vinegar

1/8 cup agave syrup

1/3 cup applesauce

1 flax egg (combine a tsp of flax seeds with 1/8 cup of water and let sit for five minutes until it thickens to a gel-like texture)

To make these muffins, start by preheating the oven to 350 degrees and spraying a muffin tin with non-stick spray. Make your flax egg right away as well and set it aside so it can thicken while you prepare the rest of the muffins. Next, combine all the dry ingredients (the flour, baking powder, and brown sugar) in a large mixing bowl. Then add in the yogurt, almond milk, vanilla extract, apple cider vinegar, agave syrup, flax egg and applesauce and stir to combine. Then spoon in the muffin mix into the muffin cups. Put in the oven for about 20-25 minutes, or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean. Enjoy!

Baking is cathartic,

Sydney

Leave a Reply

