A Trip to an Island and Back

One of the cool things about my normal route to school being closed earlier this week due to the Sandy storm aftermath, was that I was forced to take an alternative form of transportation into the city. I know, at first I thought it would be a drag too, but it ended up being a great way to see parts of the city that I otherwise wouldn’t be exposed to. So off I went, bright and early Monday morning I headed out to enjoy my first ferry ride to NYC!

Here are some of the views I enjoyed on my way over.

The actual trip itself was super quick, so I only could snap a few photos. On the way back that evening I took in the beautiful sunset and city skyline.

Breathtaking.

Once I was home that evening I prepared a wonderful fall inspired salad for dinner. Roasted Sweet Potato and Beet Salad with Walnuts and Balsamic Vinegar.

This was sooo good you guys! Sweet potato with cinnamon and fresh kale with earthy beets, absolutely scrumptious.

You’ll want to try this recipe asap. Super simple, tasty and nutritious.

Roasted Sweet Potato and Beet Salad with Walnuts and Balsamic Vinegar

Serves 1

3 large handfuls of chopped kale

1/2 cup sliced beets (I used canned and sliced beets from Whole Foods that I found with no added salt or sugar, score!)

1/3 cup walnuts

1 small sweet potato

1 tsp olive oil

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

In order to make this salad, start by preparing the roasted sweet potato. Turn your oven on to 400 degrees, and while the oven is preheating slice the sweet potato into four wedges. Place the sweet potato on a baking sheet and drizzle with olive oil then sprinkle with cinnamon. Roast the sweet potato for 40 minutes, flipping them halfway through. While the potatoes are baking away, prepare the rest of your salad by chopping the kale, beets and walnuts to your preferred size. Once the potatoes are done simply cut them into bite size pieces and place atop the salad. At the end drizzle the balsamic vinegar over the salad and then enjoy!

Play some board games for me,

Sydney

2 thoughts on “A Trip to an Island and Back

Leave a Reply

