What I Ate Wednesday!

I have come across many food blogs over the years that do a weekly installment called “What I ate Wednesday” or WIAW, and I think it’s about time that I try it out! Essentially, each Wednesday I will post about the food I have eaten on one day during that particular week. It’ll include my breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks.

The point of this weekly recap is to celebrate food and to encourage the pursuit of healthy variety in our diets. I know there are a handful of meals that I make over and over, with just a little tweaking here and there, but I look forward to breaking out of the box and experimenting with different meal ideas! And maybe I’ll get around to using all these lovely grains and legumes this way too!

IMG_1850

For me, Wednesdays are shaping up to be the busiest day of the week with my second semester of grad school quickly approaching. I will be working during the day and then going to two back-to-back night classes. If I can stick to documenting what I eat on Wednesdays, this will definitely give me an opportunity to get creative in preparing meals ahead of time to bring along with me.

I’ll need to come up with some delicious, nutritious, and portable meals…So if you have any suggestions let me know! If things get too crazy to always post about Wednesdays though, I’ll simply include meals from another day that week.

I hope you enjoy my WIAW posts and that they inspire you too to spice things up in the kitchen. Have fun and enjoy the wonderful world of food!

Without further ado, here is what I had for breakfast. A yummy fruit and yogurt parfait. Made with plain greek yogurt, oats, chia seeds, blueberries and mangos!

IMG_1859

A midmorning snack of ginger almond granola and almond milk.

IMG_1868

Lunch was a fabulous sweet potato and black bean burrito with an apple on the side. Whole wheat tortilla, ~2 tbsp cilantro jalapeño hummus, half a roasted sweet potato (with cinnamon, chives and orange peel seasoning), about 1/3 cup black beans and a small handful of salad mix. Taste!

IMG_1874An afternoon snack of dark chocolate chips. Sometimes a little chocolate is all you need!

IMG_1877And for dinner I had acorn squash filled with pecans and cranberries, drizzled with ginger spread around the edges. Delish!

IMG_1886

And some farro salad made with red pepper, yellow onion, black beans and minced ginger. It was a fun food day!

IMG_1890

A special thanks to Jenn for hosting! Click on the link below to see her site and countless other bloggers’ WIAW!

Acorn squash is where it’s at,

Sydney

3 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

