What I Ate Wednesday!

Hi all, welcome to this week’s What I ate Wednesday post. Week number 4! And thanks to Jenn for hosting!

This WIAW consists of all my eats from Tuesday. It was a good day. I started off the day doing some readings for school. Learned about the difference between prevalence and incidence rates from my epidemiology textbook. And along with breakfast I read a chapter in Food Politics. I love this book. The chapter I read talked about the USDA’s role in creating dietary guidelines such as the food pyramid. And how there are many other institutions and industries that impact their decisions as well…

IMG_2544

Along with my light breakfast reading I had this delicious bowl of oatmeal. Made with 1/2 cup of instant oats, 1 very ripe banana, about 1 tbsp of flax seeds, a small handful of cranberries and about 1 tbsp of peanut butter. Perfection in a bowl. Also had a glass of fresh squeezed orange juice on the side. Thanks Grandma for the lovely Florida oranges!

IMG_2513For a mid-morning snack before I headed into work I had a piece of toast with fig preserves. I love fig preserves. Fig anything, really.

IMG_2519By the time I got to work I was starving and ready for lunch. I had leftover pizza I had made the other night. It was so good! It was a butternut squash, brussels sprouts, cranberry ricotta pizza.

IMG_2523And a side of veggies and hummus. And a pear. Love pears!

IMG_2524A few hours after lunch I went back for my snack. A combination of bran flakes and my mom’s homemade raisins. I’m also a huge bran fan. Yep, gotta love the bran.

IMG_2526

While I was in my evening class I had a leftover cinnamon roll from this past weekend to hold me over until I could get back home for dinner. It was really dark in the lecture hall!

IMG_2535

Dinner was a glorious temp tac. A taco made with tempeh, kale, corn, bell peppers, onion, a bunch of seasonings, greens and some salsa.

IMG_2539Dessert last night was unbelievable. Seriously delicious. I made my brother, roommate and I some shakes. Mine was a chocolate, peanut butter, banana smoothie with silken tofu! It was about 2/3 cup of homemade almond milk, 1/2 cup of oats, 1 very ripe frozen and sliced banana, about a third of a package of silken tofu, 1 tbsp of peanut butter, 2 tsp of cocoa powder, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and a dash of maple syrup. Holy wow, this was awesome.

IMG_2542

Silken tofu is the new black,

Sydney

11 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday!

    • dindu1989 says:

      Thank you! Pizzas are one of my favorite things to make because you can really do so much more than just cheese and sauce! It’s fun to get creative with pizza :)

    • dindu1989 says:

      Thanks Meghan! I’ll be posting the pizza recipe soon, but in the meantime give the smoothie a try :) I was always unsure about how tofu would work in smoothie/dessert type recipes, but I finally tried it and it was amazing! It gives the smoothie a fabulous thick and creamy texture, not to mention some protein!

Leave a Reply

