What I Ate Wednesday and Avocado Almond Pulp Sandwiches!

Hello friends, can you believe it’s Wednesday again? Already!? This week marks my fifth installment of WIAW, and I have to say I am ready to share my eats. Thanks as always to Jenn for hosting this party over at Peas & Crayons!

My Tuesday morning was filled with studying, a little bit of epidemiology and a little bit of research methods. My morning was fueled by this delicious bowl of yogurt and toppings.

IMG_2622

I don’t normally have yogurt as the main component of my breakfast, but with no ripe bananas in my kitchen (serious heartache), I couldn’t make my normal banana oats, or english muffin with peanut butter and banana, or…anything with banana! Thank goodness I had a pear. I love me some pears as well. But normally it’s an afternoon thing, pears are just better in the afternoon.

IMG_2624

Anyway, this breakfast turned out to be quite tasty and satisfying, and fits perfectly with the theme of WIAW and trying new foods and dishes and breaking out of your food box.

IMG_2623

Glad I had this bowl of vanilla greek yogurt, blueberry cinnamon flax cereal, cranberries, peanut butter and almond pulp. Yum!

In the afternoon I headed to campus for work. And I brought along my lunch to eat when I got there. It was a delicious Black Bean Salsa Verde Burrito (recipe to come). In the spirit of this month’s WIAW theme of ‘love your veggies,’ I wanted to incorporate some of my favorites into lunch: beets and sweet potatoes!

IMG_2640Here’s my side of veggies, tomatoes and the sweet potato.

IMG_2654

And an apple for kicks.

IMG_2656As a snack in my biostatistics class that evening I had a handful of cashews.

IMG_2659

Unfortunately I didn’t get a picture of dinner. I went out to eat with a friend and I had an amazing Pad Thai with vegetables and tofu dish. It was so good and I completely forgot to take a picture. Oops!

For dessert I had a slice of the chocolate cinnamon bread from Starbucks. Very good, I need to try to create that recipe on my own!

IMG_2663Since I forgot to show you what I actually had for dinner, here is a quick and delicious recipe you can whip up! If you’ve been wondering what I’ve done with my leftover almond pulp from making homemade almond milk, well, I’ve been making lots of sandwiches! And so far this Avocado Almond Pulp Sandwich is my favorite.

IMG_2222

So simple and so delicious. Essentially, the almond pulp is what’s left over after straining the almond milk through the nut milk bag in the whole almond milk making process. Don’t throw it away because you can use it in lots of tasty recipes!

IMG_2225

Avocado Almond Pulp Sandwich

Makes 1 sandwich

1/3 cup of almond pulp

1/2 an avocado, sliced

A couple tablespoons of your favorite hummus ( I used cilantro jalapeño hummus)

Sliced cucumber (for some added crunch!)

A handful of greens

2 slices of whole grain bread

To make this sandwich simply place all the ingredients between the two slices of bread, I know, crazy right? Enjoy!

TGIW,

Sydney

10 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday and Avocado Almond Pulp Sandwiches!

Leave a Reply

