Breakfast Galore

Growing up I remember breakfast being my least favorite meal of the day. I think I got bored of cereal, pop tarts, toaster strudel…and more cereal. I don’t even remember what else I would eat. But now that I know all the glorious things breakfast has to offer, I’d say it just might take the title as my favorite meal! Oatmeal, toast, smoothies, muffins, yogurt, granola, fruit (aka bananas!), and peanut butter added to everything. You can’t go wrong.

So here are some of the tasty breakfasts I’ve been having recently, including a Blueberry Mango Smoothie. And thanks for these awesome glasses Mom, I love using them for whatever I drink!

IMG_2569Blueberry Mango Smoothie for One

1/2 cup frozen mango

1/4 cup frozen blueberries

1 small frozen banana, sliced

4 oz. silken tofu

1/2 cup of almond milk

Place all ingredients in a blender and blend until thick and creamy!

I’ve also had some peanut butter raisin bran cereal. I don’t mind this type of cereal if it’s all jazzed up!

IMG_2620Peanut Butter Raisin Bran Cereal. Not so sure it is an actual recipe, but my bowl was filled with Trader Joe’s bran flakes, almond milk, a sliced banana, raisins and peanut butter. So good. And with a side of water of course!

This past week I kicked my normal oatmeal recipe up a notch. I made Cinnamon Spiced Hot Cocoa Oats. With the ‘spiced’ referring to chili powder. Yes, chili powder for breakfast. And boy was it delicious!

IMG_2696Cinnamon Spiced Hot Cocoa Oats

Serves 1

1/2 cup of old fashioned oats

1 ripe banana, sliced

1/2 cup of water

1 tbsp cocoa powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp chili powder

Peanut butter to drizzle on top

To make these oats, I combined the oats, banana and water in a bowl and microwaved for two minutes. Then I gave the oats a good stir and added in the cocoa powder, cinnamon and chili powder. I placed it in the microwave for another minute, and then took them out steamin’ hot. Drizzled a little peanut butter on top for kicks, and there you have it. Delicious hot chocolate oats.

Find the joy in breakfast,

Sydney

2 thoughts on “Breakfast Galore

Leave a Reply

