What I Ate Wednesday # 12

Morning all! Hope your April is off to a lovely start wherever you are, and that Spring has finally sprung! I can’t wait to share may day of eats with you all (what else is new?), so let’s get started.

IMG_3631

Yesterday I had a fabulous jar of overnight oats. It has been so long since I’ve done overnight oats! Now that the weather is getting a bit nicer I decided to go for the gold and try cold oats. This was a tasty mix of 1/2 cup of instant oats, 3/4 cup of almond milk, 1 tbsp of chia seeds, one banana (sliced), a spoonful of plain greek yogurt, and some frozen mixed berries. I simply combined everything in a mason jar overnight and when I woke up had breakfast waiting for me!

IMG_3638

Once I gave it a little stir the mixed berries gave it a beautiful pastel purple hue!

My mid-morning and mid-afternoon snacks today consisted of some loot I acquired at Whole Foods last weekend. I love Whole Foods! I had a gift card from Christmas that was burning a hole in my pocket…

IMG_3531

And I finally made it into the city and stocked up on goodies. Here are some of my purchases.

IMG_3564

IMG_3559

The apple cinnamon rice cakes and the unsalted pretzels were my snacks!

For lunch at work I had packed a homemade veggie burger. These ones may be a new favorite for me! They are Sweet Potato, Brown Rice and Crunchy Pecan Burgers. Topped with a little BBQ sauce. Delectable.

IMG_3665

I also had some veggies and an apple on the side.

IMG_3666

IMG_3667

Dessert was the best! I made homemade Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups. And this one was a coconut and sea salt dusted version with slivered almonds inside. Sweet and salty, yes. Smooth peanut butter and crunchy almonds, yes. Perfect flavor and texture combinations! See this old post on Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups for how to make them!

IMG_3655

Once I got back from class in the evening I had some Tempeh and Veggie Pasta over a bed of greens and some roasted carrots on the side for dinner.

IMG_3674

I decided to finish off the awkward two and a half spoonfuls of plain greek yogurt I had left…and with the addition of chopped pecans and a few craisins it turned out to be quite tasty!

IMG_3677

Ended the night with a little dark chocolate for good luck!

IMG_3681

Thanks to Jenn for hosting these lovely weekly gatherings! Happy WIAW!

TGIW,

Sydney

7 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday # 12

Leave a Reply

