What I Ate Wednesday #15 and Mindblowingly Awesome Rice and Beans

Morning! Happy Wednesday! We’ve had some highs in the 60s and 70s this week in Jersey so I thought I’d make some spring/summer inspired overnight oats. I love cold oats! Today I had a banana, peach, and ground flaxseed jar of goodness that was sprinkled with cinnamon. Pure heaven.

IMG_4008

I just recently ran out of whole flaxseeds and this time I decided to pick up the ground kind. It was great mixed in with the oats. This jar was made with 1/2 cup of instant oats, 3/4 cup of almond milk, 1 tbsp of ground flaxseed, one sliced banana, and some frozen peach chunks.

IMG_4009

I spent all morning making calls, doing homework, readings and finishing various projects. It was a very productive morning to say the least! By mid-morning I was craving a little something sweet and decided to go for the golden combo of sweet and salty. I had this lovely dish of pretzel pieces and dark chocolate.

IMG_4030

Not too long after I headed in to work. And there I had my packed lunch. And holy cat, this was one of the best lunches I’ve had in a long time! I made a simple rice and bean concoction from a few recipes I’ve seen across the blogosphere lately, and, wow. Such a simple yet delicious dish! These pictures don’t do this Mindblowingly Awesome Rice and Beans dish justice.

IMG_4019

IMG_4021

Topped with avocado, fresh sprouts and some goat’s cheese, lusciousness. I’ll be making this again next week for sure!

IMG_4031

I also had an apple with lunch. Unfortunately it was pretty mushy and I had to throw some of it away. Sad.

IMG_4034

That afternoon during class I snacked on some apple cinnamon rice cakes. I love these things!

IMG_4040

I got home for dinner earlier than expected and decided to whip up a sandwich and smoothie. The sandwich was a winner, spinach, cucumbers, sprouts, tomato and hummus. Yum.

IMG_4054

IMG_4055

And the smoothie was a new flavor! I called it a tropical ginger bliss smoothie. Made with one frozen banana, 1/2 frozen orange, a little over a 1/2 cup of almond milk, 1 tbsp of chia seeds, 1 tsp of grated ginger and some coconut flakes sprinkled on top. I’ve never frozen an orange before and used it in smoothies, but it worked great! Kind of tasted like a dreamsicle. Oh the memories.

IMG_4044

To end the night I treated myself to a little Parks and Rec.

IMG_3996

Oh Leslie Knope, you’re amazing.

And here’s the recipe before I forget. Make these rice and beans today!

Mindblowingly Awesome Rice and Beans

Serves 3

1 cup of brown rice, uncooked

1 can of no salt added diced tomatoes

13.4 oz. box of no salt added kidney beans

~1/4 cup of jalapeño peppers, sliced

1/2 tbsp of the herbs of your choice

Recommended toppings: Fresh avocado, fresh sprouts (I used broccoli, kale and radish sprouts), and goat’s cheese.

To make this dish, simply cook the rice according to package directions. When rice is done cooking, add to a large mixing bowl and add the tomatoes, kidney beans, jalapeños, herbs, and stir to combine. Serve hot or cold piled high with yummy toppings and you’ve got yourself a meal!

TGIW,

Sydney

5 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #15 and Mindblowingly Awesome Rice and Beans

  1. Sandy says:

    I agree that cold oats are totally awesome!
    And how good are apple cinnamon rice crackers too – you’re very good to just have a few, seriously I could eat the whole packet!!!!

    • dindu1989 says:

      Yay for cold oats! I love a nice bowl of hot oats too, but when the weather is nice I definitely look forward to the cold version! Haha, I try to savor the rice crackers as best I can :) Have you ever tried them with peanut butter spread on top? Soooo good!

  2. Natalie @ Lift,Sleep, Eat says:

    yum rice and beans..so simple yet such a tasty meal!!
    love adding flaxseeds to my oats too; they thicken it up so nicely.

    • dindu1989 says:

      Yes! I don’t know how I haven’t whipped up a dish of rice and beans yet. It’s so simple and tasty that I’ll be doing it again soon! Flaxseeds all the way. I love the slight nutty flavor it give to the oats as well :)

  3. Ttrockwood says:

    I seriously make rice and beans once a week! I love rice and lentils with almond slices the most right now…
    And your body actually can’t absorb nutrients from whole flax seeds, so ground flax is always better :)

Leave a Reply

