What I Ate Wednesday #17

Happy Wednesday all! By the time this is posted I will only have two days of classes left in my first year of grad school. One more lecture and lab session for epidemiology, and one more lecture for food policy. Unbelievable. Then, a few exams and final papers are all that separates me from my trip to Italy!

Today I’m sharing my day of eats from Tuesday, and I’m glad to say I’ve actually tried some new recipes and adapted some favorites. Yay for variety!

IMG_4246

For breakfast yesterday I had pumpkin pie oats and a orange chia juice on the side. It was all delicious! Oats were simply a half a cup of old fashioned oats, one ripe and sliced banana, about 1/2 cup of water, 1/4 cup of pumpkin, ~1 tsp of vanilla, a generous dash of both cinnamon and nutmeg, and finally topped with a little shredded coconut and maple syrup. Wow, it was delicious! And the drink I had along with it was a glass of orange juice that I mixed with 3 tsp of chia seeds and left in the fridge overnight so the seeds could absorb some of the liquid. My mom made a homemade drink inspired by the Mama Chia brand juices, and I thought I’d try my own with what I had on hand. I loved it. With the chewy chia seeds and all!

IMG_4248

Mid-morning snack was a piece of toast with some golden plum preserves.

IMG_4271

For lunch I photographed at home before I left for work! This was leftover Peanut Ginger Kale Salad with Tempeh.

IMG_4258

I also filled up my snack taxis (of course!) and brought a little jar of peanut butter with me.

IMG_4264

Inside one of the packs was an apple. The peanut butter was used to dip the apples in!

IMG_4262

And in the other pack their was some pumpkin cornbread. Taste.

IMG_4281

When I got home from class I made dinner right away. I had a plate of leftovers and assorted veggies. Also some bread and cilantro jalapeño hummus.

IMG_4277

I ended up mashing the avocado on my bread, so it was essentially like a thick creamy spread of avocado. Let’s just say it won’t be the last time I do that!

IMG_4285

I also had some greek yogurt with bran flakes and raisins on top. Yum yum!

Thanks to Jenn for hosting this lovely gathering over at Peas and Crayons!

TGIW,

Sydney

2 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #17

Leave a Reply

