What I Ate Wednesday #18 and Bean and Barley Bake

By the end of today I will have two finals down and two to go. The end is in sight my friends! This week I have been using my study breaks to cook, and I have enjoyed every minute of it. It’s a great mental break, and I love being in the kitchen all calm and relaxed while prepping the food. It’s also a bonus that I get substantial nourishment from these study breaks too! Anyway, since it’s Wednesday let’s jump into the food!

IMG_4369

For breakfast yesterday I had a creamy bowl of banana flax oats with cranberries and peanut butter. Classic.

IMG_4371

Mid-morning I was hungry and had some ‘zals for a snack.

IMG_4375

It was nice not having to work yesterday so I was home for all my meals. It was a long day of studying but I broke up the day with lunch and an episode of Gilmore Girls. Lunch was a humongous salad, made with greens, avocado, tomato, sweet potato, cucumber, and topped with a little balsamic vinegar and mango peach salsa.

IMG_4359

By mid-afternoon I was craving a little something sweet and had part of this chocolate oatmeal bar I bought at the farmer’s market this week. It. was. delicious.

IMG_4342

And dinner was a scrumptious serving of a Bean and Barley Bake I made the other day (recipe at end of post). Seriously, this stuff is amazing!

IMG_4384

I also had a pink lady apple along with dinner. Crispy, sweet perfection.

IMG_4395

After getting home later that night from a group study session I had dessert before going to bed. I ended the night with some plain greek yogurt, fresh strawberries and some chocolate chips. Yum!

Hope you all have a wonderful day!

Make sure to pop on over to Peas and Crayons to see where this WIAW party always starts!

Bean and Barley Bake

Serves 6

Recipe adapted from Pinch of Yum

IMG_4343

This dish was as beautiful as it was delicious! Here’s what you’ll need:

3 cloves of garlic, minced

1/2 a large red onion, minced

2 jalapeños, minced

1 tbsp olive oil

1 can of black beans, drained and rinsed

1 can of red kidney beans, drained and rinsed

1 and 1/4 cup of vegetable broth

1 cup of barley (measured uncooked)

1 tsp chili powder

A few sprinkles of crushed red pepper flakes

2 tsp of a blended herb mix

1 cup of cherry tomatoes

1/2 cup of sharp shredded cheddar cheese

To make this dish start by cooking the barley according to package directions.

While the barley is cooking, chop up the onion and jalapeños.

Then, heat a large saucepan to medium heat and add the oil. When the pan is heated, add the garlic, onion and jalapeños and cook for about 5 minutes, stirring frequently.

Now would be a good time to get your oven preheating, so set the temperature to 375 degrees.

After the five minutes are up, add in the beans and the vegetable broth to the pot, give everything a good stir, and bring to a boil. Allow the mixture to boil for about 5-7 minutes, or until most of the liquid is absorbed. If at the end of 5-7 minutes you still have excess liquid you can drain the rest out.

Once your barley is finished cooking (I had a ready-to-eat in 10 minute kind from Trader Joe’s!) and has been drained, stir in the seasonings to give the barley a bit of flavor.

Grease an 8X8 baking dish with non-stick spray, and start assembling the bake! First, layer the bottom of the dish with the bean and veggie mix.

Second, atop that layer add the herbed barley.

Finally, sprinkle over top the cherry tomatoes.

Place in the oven covered with tin foil, and cook for 10 minutes.

Then take the dish out of the oven, sprinkle with the shredded cheddar and place in the oven for another 10 minutes uncovered.

Once the 10 minutes are up, enjoy!

TGIW,

Sydney

8 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #18 and Bean and Barley Bake

  1. jessielovestorun says:

    Currently drooling over every single one of your meals! No joke, it all looks delicious. Your breakfast looks so filling, lunch looks perfect no matter if it’s cold or warm out, and dinner… um no words can describe it (in a good way of course) :)

    • dindu1989 says:

      Thank you so much for your kind comment! The oatmeal was definitely filling, that’s why oats are a go-to breakfast for me on most days :) My salad was just a combo of all the veggies I had in my fridge, but salads with a variety of any toppings always turn out great! And you must try the bean and barley bake! It was fantastic. Hope you have a wonderful day!!

  2. Melissa says:

    Love the colorful salad! I’ve been on a sort of salad/bowl kick recently and it’s so much better with a variety of produce. I haven’t had oats in a long time – I need them back in my life!

    • dindu1989 says:

      Thanks Melissa! I can definitely relate to being on a salad kick! I try to use up whatever’s left in my fridge for toppings and luckily it always seems to work out. I usually can’t go too long without oats though, so I’ve been trying some new combinations lately to mix things up. Definitely have some oats again soon! Whether hot or cold they will be delicious :)

  3. liftsleepeat says:

    oh yum everything looks really good; i love the look of those banana flax oats with melty pb…drool!

Leave a Reply

