Ciao For Now!

Today I leave for Italy!!! I will be spending the next few weeks researching Italian culture, food systems, and the Mediterranean diet. All throughout the course (which I am taking through my Master’s program), we have activities and field trips planned to give us the opportunity to immerse ourselves into Italian culture as much as possible. With trips to wineries, farms, coffee roasters and the Mediterranean Sea to meet local fisherman, I don’t think I could imagine a better way to start my summer.

I have been packing like crazy and trying to get ready for the trip, and I think I am finally set! Yesterday I helped my friend Alyce move, and now we are both set to start this adventure. Here’s a lovely picture of us in the U-Haul making our way to the storage unit in 5:00 pm Manhattan traffic. Gridlock anyone?

20130524_164032

After getting home from helping Alyce I figured I should start doing some packing myself, and now (the afternoon of the day I leave) I think I’ve got my essentials ready to go. Like this box bursting at the seems with Larabars and Clif bars. Because you never know when you’ll need a little something to munch on. Actually, that’s not true…I always need a little something to munch on. That’s why I bought an excessive amount of bars.

IMG_4519

Anyway, I also have my sunscreen, walking shoes and a converter. I think most of the essentials are covered.

IMG_4521

And I have to leave you with one more recipe before I’m off. It’s a good one so I hope you enjoy! I’m not sure how much blogging I’ll be able to do while I’m away, but I hope to pop in every now and again and keep you posted!

So without further ado here is a lovely breakfast or brunch recipe you can make for the weekend: Coconut Dusted French Toast with Maple Ginger Blueberry Compote. Need I say more?

IMG_3343

This is the golden delicious coconut dusted french toast before the compote topping. Delectable!

IMG_3355

And here is the finished product. Even more delectable!

IMG_3357I entered this recipe in a contest, so abiding by their rules there are only a handful of ingredients in the recipe, and they are vegan. They are quick and simple, and taste as delicious as they look!

Coconut Dusted French Toast with Maple Ginger Blueberry Compote

Serves 1 (can easily be multiplied)

Two slices of all natural whole wheat bread

1 tbsp coconut oil, melted

1/2 tbsp ground/whole flax seed

1 tsp fresh ginger, minced

1/4 cup of Silk vanilla soy milk

1/2 cup of fresh blueberries

1/8 cup of pure maple syrup

1/2 tbsp of coconut shavings

1) Start by melting the coconut oil in a small dish in the microwave.

2) Once melted, add in 1 tbsp of water and 1/2 tbsp of ground/whole flaxseed to the coconut oil dish. Stir and set aside for five minutes, allowing the flax “egg” to thicken.

3) Use the five minutes of wait time to mince the ginger, find a shallow dish to use to dunk the bread into the flax “egg” mixture, and spray a medium sized skillet with non-stick spray and then heat the pan to medium heat.

4) When the five minutes are up your skillet should be heated and ready to go, so simply combine the flax “egg” mixture and the Silk soy  milk in the shallow dish, and briefly dunk in both slices of bread (make sure to coat both sides of the bread) before placing on the skillet.

5) Cook the french toast for one minute at medium heat, then turn the heat down to medium low and flip the french toast. Continue cooking for another 4 minutes.

6) While the french toast is cooking, heat a small skillet to medium low heat.

7) When the four minutes are up on the french toast, flip the toast for the final time and cook for another 3 minutes. After flipping the french toast, add the maple syrup, ginger and blueberries into your heated small skillet, and simmer the compote mixture for the remaining three minutes as well.

8) After three minutes your french toast will be a beautiful golden brown and your maple ginger blueberry compote will be bubbling and slightly thickened.

9) Remove each skillet from heat and plate! Place the french toast on your platter of choice, top with the compote and finish by sprinkling with the coconut shavings.

10) Enjoy!

Ciao for now,

Sydney

2 thoughts on “Ciao For Now!

  1. eatgreatbegreat says:

    I’m so jealous you’re going to Italy! I was there about 10 years ago and have always wanted to go back! It’s an amazing country! Have an awesome time! BTW…the french toast looks awesome!

Leave a Reply

