What I Ate Wednesday # 20 and Blueberry Banana Avocado Smoothie

Oh how I’ve missed participating in WIAW! I am so glad to be back in the swing of things and cannot wait to see everyone’s summer eats!! In the spirit of WIAW and varying up my food routine, I tried incorporating some different foods into my meals and experimented with some new recipes. A grapefruit for breakfast!? Say what?

IMG_5937

That’s right, yesterday morning I had a perfectly lovely breakfast and it did not include a banana. Instead, I had a half a grapefruit and some blueberries for my fruit fixing. I also had some vanilla greek yogurt and peanut butter toast. It was delicious, light and refreshing in this hot summer heat!

IMG_5930

For lunch I had some Beet, Barley and Black Bean Salad that I made the day before. I ate it chilled and boy did it hit the spot! There was a cilantro, lime juice and ginger glaze on top of this salad and I will share the recipe soon!

IMG_5924

Along with the salad I had a pita pocket filled with spinach, roasted red pepper hummus and almond pulp. Simply wonderful.

IMG_5926

Dinner was a tasty new take on the classic Temp Tacs (tempeh tacos). This time I made the taco filling with onions, mushrooms, jalapeños, garlic, ginger and a little apple cider vinegar. Yum!

IMG_5928

I also had a peach with dinner. So glad peaches are back!

IMG_5942

And for dessert I had a Blueberry Banana Avocado Smoothie. This was such a sweet and enjoyable treat! I ended up using frozen avocados in the smoothie, which gave the smoothie the most amazing light and fluffy texture. It was like eating a cold, silky mousse dessert. You have got to try this smoothie!

Blueberry Banana Avocado Smoothie

Serves 1

3/4 cups of almond milk

One sliced, frozen banana

2 tbsp vanilla greek yogurt

1/4 a sliced, frozen avocado

1 large handful of fresh blueberries

Simply place all ingredients into a blender and let it whirl. Serve immediately for a delightfully cool dessert!

Thanks as always to Jenn over at Peas and Crayons!

TGIW,

Sydney

6 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday # 20 and Blueberry Banana Avocado Smoothie

Leave a Reply

