Butternut Squash Burgers with Orange and Cinnamon Spice

Burgers are probably one of my favorite meals to make. Especially now that summer is here all I can think about is grilling, cookouts, picnics and outdoor dining! And…burgers, burgers, burgers.

IMG_5913

I don’t actually have a grill at my apartment to make the quintessential, slightly charred burger that’s reminiscent of summer, but I make do with my oven. Turns out baking burgers are just as delicious! Especially when you make Butternut Squash Burgers with Orange and Cinnamon Spice. Scrumptious!

IMG_5916

Look at all those herbs!

IMG_5914

I know squash isn’t in season now, so this isn’t really a typical summer burger, but I had some butternut squash in the freezer that I needed to use up. And I thought I’d try doing something a bit different with it, like make a burger!

In the end I decided to sauté the squash with bell peppers to form the base of the burger. Then I added some chickpeas for protein, some oats for texture, and some spices for flavor! And voilá, butternut squash burgers!

What’s your favorite summer veggie burger recipe?

Butternut Squash Burgers with Orange and Cinnamon Spice

Makes 4 burgers

1 can chickpeas

1/2 cup of oats

1 cup butternut squash, diced

1/2 cup bell peppers, diced

1/8 cup of jalapeños, diced

dash of cinnamon

1 tsp of dried orange peel

1 tbsp dried basil

2 cloves of diced garlic

1 tsp olive oil

In order to make these burgers I took out frozen and diced butternut squash and bell peppers from my freezer a few hours ahead of time to let them thaw.

Then, whenever you are ready to prepare the burgers start by preheating the oven to 400 degrees and lining a baking sheet with tin foil.

Next heat a skillet with the olive oil over medium-low heat. Once the skillet is ready, add in the garlic, squash, peppers and jalapeños and cook, stirring occasionally for about 7 minutes. Basically until the ingredients are warmed through.

While the veggies are cooking in the skillet, add the chickpeas and oats to a large mixing bowl.

When the squash mixture is done, add the squash to the chickpea and oat mix and mash with a fork until you reach the desired consistency for the patties.

Lastly, stir in the cinnamon, orange peel, and basil and then form the mixture into four patties.

Place the patties on the baking sheet and bake for 10 minutes, flip, and cook an additional 7 minutes.

Add whatever toppings to your burgers that you’d like and enjoy!

More basil please,

Sydney

3 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Burgers with Orange and Cinnamon Spice

  1. Stephanie Calloway says:

    I love being able to come to your blog, enter an ingredient that I have in my kitchen and find AWESOME recipes! Please post more photos of preparation/ingredients – it helps me visualize making it. :-)

    • dindu1989 says:

      Thank you so much Steph! I am so glad that you have enjoyed the recipes! I’ve seen other blogs that include more photos of the preparation process and always thought about doing it, and now that I know that you find it helpful I’ll try to do it more often :) And dried orange peel is like dried zest…if that makes sense. My mom sent it to me and I’m not exactly sure how it is made. I will say that the dried orange peel is much less flavorful than fresh zest, so you could easily substitute fresh zest if you have some (I would just use less than what the recipe called for in terms of dried orange peel).

Leave a Reply

