Lovely Loaded Sweet Potatoes

Happy July Everyone! I can’t tell you how excited I am for this month and all that’s going on. I will be back home for part of the month, have a family reunion of sorts, start my new job, plan on going to the farmers’ markets as frequently as possible and cooking up a storm! Hope you all have fun plans for the month of July as well!

Last week I needed to use up a handful of ingredients in my fridge before I went out of town. I had mushrooms, onions, jalapeños, and sweet potatoes, and what I came up with was Lovely Loaded Sweet Potatoes. Oh my word. These were phenomenal.

IMG_5958

My brother and I each had one, and we could not believe how simple they were to make and how flavorful they were!

IMG_5965

It was a sweet and savory combination to die for. The sweetness came from the sweet potatoes (of course!) and the savory came from the mushrooms, onions and jalapeños.

IMG_5966

Adding a special BBQ tahini sauce on top with some fresh cilantro really made this dish outstanding. I recommend you make it tonight!

Lovely Loaded Sweet Potatoes

Serves 2

1 large sweet potato

1 tbsp of olive oil

5 oz. of mushrooms, chopped

1/4 of a large yellow onion, chopped

1/2 a jalapeño, diced

1 tbsp of tahini

1 tbsp of BBQ sauce

cilantro for garnish

To make these lovelies start by preheating your oven to 400 degrees and lining a baking sheet with tin foil.

Wash and cut the sweet potato in half, and when the oven is ready place on the baking sheet and put in the oven. Cook for 20 minutes, push the sweet potato halves around so they don’t stick to the foil, then continue cooking another 25 minutes.

While the sweet potatoes are baking chop your mushrooms, onions, and jalapeños, and heat a skillet to medium-low heat with a tablespoon of olive oil.

When the skillet is ready add the onions, mushrooms and jalapeños and cook for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. When ten minutes is up, your onions should be golden and your mushrooms should be tender.

In a small bowl mix the BBQ sauce and tahini and set aside.

When the sweet potato is finished baking and the skillet veggies are done, assemble your loaded sweet potato! Simply divide the veggies over each sweet potato half, top with a dollop of the BBQ tahini sauce and garnish with cilantro. Enjoy!

Cilantro is my jam,

Sydney

Leave a Reply

