Ginger Peach Cookies

Helllllooo peaches! After buying a bunch of peaches at the farmer’s market at the beginning of last week, I came to the realization that they would all ripen at the exact same time…Which means I needed to come up with a recipe that would allow me to use up a handful of them at once, or I’d be left with like fifty overripe, mushy peaches. And that wouldn’t be any fun.

IMG_6559

And after debating about whether to make peach pie or peach cobbler or peach crisp, I finally decided to go in another direction and that making peach cookies would be the best! Ginger Peach Cookies to be exact.

IMG_6562

To be honest, these cookies really grew on me as I ate them. Initially I made them to bring to two of my friends’ housewarming party, but when I took them out of the oven and had my first bite I thought the taste was a bit too subtle for winning over a party crowd. They were good, but not shut the front door good.

IMG_6590

The flavor from the peach was overshadowed a bit by the ginger. I had initially hoped the peach would be the star of the show, however, with the hint of sweetness from the brown sugar and the warm cinnamon spice I think it created a very complimentary flavor palate. I ended up quite enjoying the blend of flavors and the texture (especially when you got a bite of the peach).

IMG_6576

I think these would make a great breakfast cookie. If there is such a thing!

IMG_6585

These cookies are also vegan and a cinch to make. So what are you waiting for? Go get your breakfast cookies on!

Ginger Peach Cookies

Makes 12 cookies

3 ripe very peaches, peeled

1/4 cup of brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tbsp ginger spread (like ginger jam)

1 flax egg

1/2 cup of whole wheat flour

1/2 cup all purpose flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp cinnamon

3/4 cup of old fashioned oats

To make these cookies begin with making the flax egg. Simply combine 1 tbsp of ground flax seed with 3 tbsp of water, stir, and set in fridge for about 7-10 minutes (or until the mixture becomes gel-like).

While the flax egg is setting, mash the peaches in a large mixing bowl and then add the brown sugar, vanilla, and ginger spread. Stir with a fork to combine.

When the flax egg is ready, add to the peach mixture and stir again.

In a separate bowl, combine all of the dry ingredients. When combined, add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix together.

Place the batter in the fridge for about 30 minutes before baking.

When ready to bake, turn the oven to 325 degrees, and place 12 cookies on a baking sheet. Bake for about 15-18. Enjoy!

Heading out to go grocery shopping,

Sydney

6 thoughts on “Ginger Peach Cookies

  1. Susan says:

    I can’t wait to try them! We just finished up all of our delicious Georgia peaches from Margaret, so I’ll have to go out and get some more :-)

    • dindu1989 says:

      I think you’ll really like them! If you use really ripe and sweet peaches it makes it so much better :) Hopefully you can find some at the farmer’s market!

Leave a Reply

