What I Ate Wednesday #26

Hello, Wednesday. So nice to see you again! I’m ready for another week of sharing eats and seeing what everyone has been up to. For my post this week, I am re-capping what I ate this past Saturday. A fun weekend edition of WIAW!

IMG_7182

Saturday started off with my first ever overnight oats in a ‘just about to be thrown out’ peanut butter jar. There was probably about two tablespoons of peanut butter left on the bottom and smeared up the sides of the jar, so I knew it would make for the perfect overnight oat container!

IMG_7185

Whenever I make overnight oats I always add the peanut butter in the morning so it is still all warm and drippy on top of the oats. It was definitely different having the pb in the fridge overnight because the texture became thick, hard and almost chalky…not sure I liked it as much this way. But the overall jar was still pretty tasty!

IMG_7194

In this version of overnight oats I had a 1/2 cup of old fashioned oats, 3/4 cup of almond milk (I used Trader Joe’s Unsweetened Vanilla), 1/2 a ripe banana (sliced), and about 1 tbsp of ground flaxseed. The peanut butter was already in the jar of course. And then in the morning I topped it with the other half of my banana, about 1 tbsp of blackberry preserves, and some leftover coconut streusel crumble from a coffee cake I made the other day. I also added in another splash of almond milk to make it a little more liquidy. Yum!

IMG_7195

I had plans that morning to go for another walk along the boardwalk, but I decided to put that off since I looked outside my window and saw dark, dreary rain clouds. And then looked at the weather forecast and saw this. T-storms. Lovely.

Screen Shot 2013-08-03 at 10.37.12 AMEvery once in awhile I don’t mind a rainy day. Sometimes it’s nice to sit inside all warm and cozy and read or watch a movie.  In my case I caught up on some emails, cleaned the apartment, and made a video tutorial on cutting and preparing an avocado for my Grandpa!

IMG_7203

I had a lovely lunch of rice and beans and topped it with fresh avocado. Man I love that stuff! I froze half of the avocado so I can use it in my smoothies in the future. I adore the texture frozen avocados give smoothies!

IMG_7206

I also had a plum on the side. This was perfectly sweet and only a teeny tiny bit tart.

IMG_7217

That afternoon I had a handful of raisins and pistachios, a wonderful sweet and salty combo!

IMG_7223

Soon after I followed it with another ginger peach cookie.

IMG_7209

And before I knew it the skies had cleared up and this was what I saw when I looked outside. Clear skies!

IMG_7225

I knew I wanted to head outside, but I didn’t know if I felt like a walk or reading in the park…I decided I’d go for a little walk, but before I left I was craving some chocolate. So I took a handful of dark chocolate chips for the road.

IMG_7281

When I went outside I checked the mail, usually there’s not much for me…But on Saturday the mail made my day! There was a Vegetarian Times magazine waiting for me, so I scratched my plans for a walk and headed to the nearest park to sit in the sun and read.

IMG_7280

When I got home it was time for dinner, and after reading the magazine I was full of ideas for what I wanted to make for meals that upcoming week. For dinner I just used up a  lot of leftovers, I had a veggie plate with hummus and an english muffin. And I also made one of the most refreshing and flavorful smoothies I’ve ever had!

IMG_7270

It was a ginger kale and mango smoothie. And it was phenomenal! The freshly grated ginger made this smoothie!

IMG_7273

And check out the bright green color. This smoothie was absolutely gorgeous!

I ended the night with a piece of Coconut Cardamom Coffee Cake that I’d made. Holy cat it is amazing. I cannot wait to share the recipe with you soon! It is subtly sweet with a strong spiced flavor from the cardamom. Kind of tastes like a chai tea breakfast cake!

IMG_7237

Make sure to hop on over to Jenn’s page, the lovely host of WIAW each week!

TGIW,

Sydney

12 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #26

  1. jeri says:

    I’ve never heard of freezing avocados before. As one of those weird people that hates bananas, I can never get that great thick smoothie texture. Without even trying it, I know this is going to solve my problem. Thank you so much.

  2. Debbie (Accidently Delish) says:

    when i make my overnight oats in a peanut butter jar i actually don’t put my oats in the jar until the next morning and store them in a different container overnight. if you like the cold oats texture, but want the melty peanut butter, warm up the jar for a few seconds, then add the cold oats. best of both worlds!

Leave a Reply

