What I Ate Wednesday #28

It’s Wednesday, so you know what that means…WIAW!! And this week I am extra excited because my little sister is here!!

DSCN0700

She is moving out East to start college in a few weeks, and I could not be more thrilled that she’ll be close by and we will be able to spend much more time together! What a wonderful, wonderful Wednesday!

And in addition to that, Wednesdays are obviously great because of the food. The absolutely scrumptious food. Here are my eats from last Sunday!

IMG_7660

I started with a delicious breakfast of Kodiak Cakes. After reading about Kodiak Cakes for years on Kath Eats Real Food, I finally found them and gave them a try. They were the lightest, fluffiest, most evenly cooked pancakes I’ve ever made at home. And the ingredient list for these pancakes is short, wholesome and natural . Awesome!

IMG_7661

I topped mine with peanut butter, banana and a drizzle of honey. Perfection!

IMG_7662

After breakfast I headed to the grocery store with a list and budget in hand.

IMG_7664

Can you believe that $21.16 is what my total was when I added up my purchases while waiting in line!? Unbelievable. I couldn’t have done it if I’d tried. At that point I knew it would be a great day!

IMG_7663

At Trader Joe’s I picked up this carrot juice for the trip home. It was hot out and I knew I might have to wait for the subway for awhile, so I decided to get some fluids. Love carrot juice!

IMG_7668

For lunch I had leftover pasta and cantaloupe. The pasta was whole wheat noodles, some sautéed kale and grape tomatoes, marinara sauce, pomegranate balsamic vinegar and goat’s cheese.

IMG_7670

IMG_7672

A bit later I had a piece of this dark chocolate. I haven’t had this chocolate bar in awhile, but it was as good as I remembered it to be!

IMG_7675

I went to the mall in the afternoon to do some shopping, and came away with this awesome mortar and pestle from Macy’s. Love it. Now I can actually grind the cardamom I have!

IMG_7677

I also had a piece of bread and blackberry jam at one point, no picture though. But for dinner I had an amazing lentil tempeh bowl. It was a wonderful medley of flavors!

IMG_7687

This was a mixture of green lentils cooked with yellow onion, topped with crumbled tempeh, cranberries, goat’s cheese and kumquat marmalade. Delicious!

IMG_7689

Later that night for dessert I had a tasty yogurt dish. Vanilla greek yogurt topped with coconut cardamom coffee cake, raisins and pistachios.

IMG_7590

I cannot wait to have this again for dessert!

IMG_7587

Thanks to Jenn for hosting this weekly gathering!

TGIW,

Sydney

4 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #28

    • dindu1989 says:

      It’s the best! You’ve got to the carrot juice, and I think TJ’s version is one of my all-time favorites :) Yogurt and toppings if a fun dessert I’ve been having lately, love piling it up with all kinds of toppings!

Leave a Reply

