What I Ate Wednesday #29

Morning! And happy Wednesday to you all! My recap this week was from last Friday, featuring all my eats from a fun day in NYC with my sister! Our morning started at 3:00 a.m. Yes, 3:00 a.m. We got up at such an ungodly hour in order to make our way to Rockefeller Plaza to see One Direction at the Today Show’s summer concert series. Luckily I brought a lovely mix of overnight oats in my bag to eat! This mix was 1/2 cup of old fashioned oats, 1 ripe banana, 1 tbsp chia seeds, 3/4 cup of almond milk, and topped with ginger cashew granola and peanut butter in the morning. Taste.

IMG_7795

The show started at 7:00, but the website for the event told us to be there by 6:00 in order to get into the plaza…lies. My sister and I arrived about 5:45 and found ourselves in this crazy line wrapping a couple of blocks around the plaza.

IMG_7797

After waiting maybe a half an hour a police officer came around with a big megaphone informing us that no one else would be getting in to see the concert because they were already over capacity (later we found out over 18,000 people attended!). At that point tons of people started bailing out of line, so my sister and I thought we’d stick it out a bit longer to see if we would have any luck. We didn’t. However, we did overhear some other ladies in line talking about the free The Wanted concert in Central Park as a part of the Good Morning America summer concert series, so we thought we would take a chance and run up to Central Park and see if we could get into that concert…And we did!

IMG_7798

I could not believe how close we were to the stage! It was such a fun and upbeat set of songs that the band played, we had a wonderful time. So glad we ditched the first line to get into this concert with no wait!

IMG_7799

After the concert we hung out a little longer in the park and had some snacks. My favorite snack combo lately has been pistachios and raisins, yum!

IMG_7780

Then we did a little shopping in the city and stopped for Starbucks. A soy chai for me, close but no cigar on the spelling of my name.

IMG_7783

Soon after we stopped for lunch at Lenny’s. Still one of my favorite vegetarian sandwiches around (which I need to try and recreate at home)!

IMG_7785

Once we got back home we sipped some mocktail strawberry daiquiris, yum!

IMG_7774

And for dinner we had leftovers, I made a nacho bowl! It was a delicious mix of tortilla chips, black beans, roasted broccoli, green chiles, cilantro and salsa. Wish I had some avocado to top it off!

IMG_7793

Hope you all have a fabulous Wednesday! Make sure to stop on by Jenn’s blog to see where this WIAW party started.

TGIW,

Sydney

8 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #29

    • dindu1989 says:

      Haha, it was kind of a last minute decision so we were hoping for the best! If people were camping out for days no wonder we didn’t even stand a chance! Definitely lucked out with the other concert though :)

  1. Eating 4 Balance says:

    I’m not really a fan of One Direction. I think they are good singers and all, but it’s just the hype that bothers me. Screaming girls and all of that jazz. I will not judge you if you were one of the said screaming girls though ;) Having typed that though, I really want to see the behind the scenes-type video that is hitting theaters soon. It looks well done and I kind of have a thing for documentaries. Now I’m off to listen to some of their songs on youtube!

    • dindu1989 says:

      I can’t say I really know many of their songs or am a fan myself, haha! My sister and I just wanted to go for a fun, free concert experience! But since we didn’t get in I guess we’ll never know how crazy the screaming girls were :)

Leave a Reply

