Homemade Pumpkin Spice Latte (Vegan)

I don’t know about you but I am all about pumpkin right now. Pumpkin pancakes, pumpkin oatmeal, pumpkin spiced cookies, pumpkin pasta, pumpkin black bean burritos, pumpkin, pumpkin, pumpkin!

IMG_8371

Over the past few years one of my favorite fall treats has been getting a pumpkin spice latte from Starbucks. I love the sweetness of the latte with the hint of pumpkin spice. Something I do not love, however, is the cost. Almost $5.00 for a small? Seriously? I’ve also always ordered a soy version thinking I was avoiding dairy, but this year for the first time I was informed that the pumpkin spice syrup is actually made with dairy.

IMG_8374

Generally, I try to eat a minimal amount of animal based products. So you can guess how excited I was when I saw a recipe on one of my favorite blogs (Healthy Happy Life) for a vegan homemade pumpkin spice drink. Much cheaper. No animal products. And I can pronounce all of the ingredients in the recipe! This is a winner, my friends!

IMG_8389

If you are a pumpkin spice latte lover, give this version a try! It is mildly sweet, and more pumpkin spicy!

Homemade Pumpkin Spice Latte (vegan)

Serves 1

Inspired by Kathy’s Hot Pumpkin Mug

1 cup of coconut milk

1 shot of coffee/espresso

2 tbsp pumpkin puree

3/4 tsp of pumpkin spice

1/8 tsp of vanilla

1 tsp maple syrup

To make this beauty simply whisk all ingredients together in a bowl until smooth and no pumpkin clumps remain. Transfer drink to a mug and heat in microwave for1-2 minutes depending on how hot you want it! Enjoy!

Pumpkin it up,

Sydney

Leave a Reply

