What I Ate Wednesday #38

Today is the last WIAW for the month of October. How did that happen!? I didn’t plan ahead enough to make any fun Halloween inspired treats to share today, but hopefully you’ll enjoy seeing a day of regular Tuesday eats!

IMG_8631

I started the day with a bowl of pumpkin oats and a banana on the side. It was a blah day for breakfast. The banana was not ripe enough and the pumpkin oatmeal was just okay. Thank goodness for the toppings to liven it up! My Mom’s homemade granola made it so much better. The main mix was 1/3 cup of old fashioned oats, 1 tbsp chia seeds, ~2/3 cup of water, ~1/4 cup of pureed pumpkin, and cinnamon. Then along with the granola was some drippy peanut butter of course!

IMG_8636

After spending the morning getting some school work done and making some phone calls I  packed up my lunch to bring to my internship. I had an arugula salad with tomatoes, carrots, some sharp cheddar and balsamic vinegar. Yum!

IMG_8638

A whole wheat bagel with this hummus. Another delicious variety from Trader Joe’s.

IMG_8639

And one of these clementines, which was pretty minuscule and flavorless. Sad.

IMG_8640

An afternoon snack was a piece of dark chocolate, and a few of my Mom’s homemade raspberry raisins. She soaked the grapes in raspberry vodka before dehydrating them into raisins. It gives the raisins a subtle, but delicious raspberry flavor with a little something extra!

IMG_8644

Dinner was quite spectacular. Thanks to my brother for making temp tacs (what we call tacos that we make with tempeh)! He used tempeh, kale, corn, and a variety of seasonings in this batch. And I added some pea shoots and a little salsa to drizzle on top! I also had two more clementines, these were much better!

IMG_8646

My Mom also gave me some Halloween treats, so for dessert I had a mini snickers. I don’t think I’ve had a snickers in years but it used to be one of my favorite candy bars growing up. I didn’t really care for it though, so I think I’ll just keep snickers in my happy memories from now on!

IMG_8649

I did try a reese’s peanut butter cup pumpkin as well. All I could taste was sweet peanut butter so I enjoyed this much more!

IMG_8650

Head on over to Jenn’s page to see the rest of this What I Ate Wednesday roundup.

TGIW,

Sydney

4 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #38

    • dindu1989 says:

      You’ve got to try a pumpkin reese’s, just so you can see the hilarious attempt at creating the pumpkin shape. Mine looked pretty much like a stretched out oval :)

Leave a Reply

