Vegan Pumpkin Zucchini Muffins

Muffins! Muffins have to be one of my favorite breakfasts. Although I don’t have them all that often, there’s nothing I love more than a dense, chewy, moist and slightly sweet muffin. So after doing school work all day Friday, I decided to take a bake-break and make muffins!

DSCN0088

My Mom had sent me some organic pureed pumpkin last week, which I used in my oatmeal a few times, but since I needed to use up the rest I decided to add it to the muffins.

DSCN0119

I ended up making vegan pumpkin zucchini muffins, which are perfectly spiced with a touch of cinnamon and a hint of cardamom and ginger. Taste!

DSCN0099

You’ve got to make these fall-inspired, spiced muffins right away. They are oh so tasty!

Vegan Pumpkin Zucchini Muffins

Makes 12 muffins

Dry ingredients

2 cups whole wheat flour

1/4 cup of sugar

1/2 tbsp baking powder

1/2 tsp cinnamon

~4 cardamom pods, ground

Wet ingredients

1 flax egg (1 tbsp ground flaxseed, 3 tbsp of water)

1 cup pumpkin puree

1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

1/2 cup of shredded zucchini

1/2 tsp vanilla

1 tbsp ginger spread

To make these muffins start by preheating the oven to 350 degrees and lining muffin tin with 12 muffin cup liners.

In a large mixing bowl combine all the dry ingredients.

In a separate, smaller mixing bowl combine all the wet ingredients.

Then, stir the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients until combined.

Divide batter among 12 muffin cups and bake for about 18 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the middle of the muffins comes out clean. Enjoy!

Baking is my jam,

Sydney

9 thoughts on “Vegan Pumpkin Zucchini Muffins

    • dindu1989 says:

      You can definitely use pureed zucchini instead of grated! I can’t say for sure how to adjust the recipe successfully since I didn’t make mine with pureed zucchini, but I would recommend reducing the zucchini measurement to 1/4 cup. And then just keep checking the muffins as they are baking, they may need a few extra minutes to cook since they will be very moist. Hope that helps :)

Leave a Reply

