Creamy Apple Butternut and Green Lentil Stew

I did it. I finally made my own stew!

IMG_8877

I started off with the intention of making some lentils, plain and simple. But then I just kept adding all the veggies I had in my fridge, and the fruit I had on my counter, and the soup I had in the cupboard.

IMG_8875

And voilá! A delicious, hearty, late fall and early winter stew!

IMG_8857

Creamy Apple Butternut and Green Lentil Stew

Serves 4

1/2 cup green lentils

1 and 1/2 cups water

1/2 yellow onion, chopped

1 small honey crisp apple

1 medium sweet potato, finely chopped

5 oz. cremini mushrooms, sliced in half

2 cups of kale, frozen and chopped

1 cup of soup or broth of choice (I used organic butternut squash soup from Trader Joes)

To make this stew start by bringing a large pot with the water, lentils and onions to a boil. Once at a boil, reduce heat and simmer for about 25 minutes (or until lentils are just tender, but not mushy).

While the lentils are simmering chop all the fruit and veggies.

After the lentils have simmered for 25 minutes, add in the apples, sweet potato, mushrooms, kale and soup and continue to simmer for another 25 minutes, or until veggies are tender and the soup is heated through.

Serve hot from the stove and enjoy!

Stew yourself a favor and make this recipe tonight,

Sydney

One thought on “Creamy Apple Butternut and Green Lentil Stew

Leave a Reply

