Cinnamon Spiced Apple Sweet Potato Breakfast Hash

Today is the start of my final semester in grad school…Yay! It is also the start of a new fitness routine and the goal of incorporating new dishes into my diet. Breakfast is certainly one of my favorite meals of the day, however, last semester I got into a routine where I had the same thing every. single. day. Either a bowl of peanut butter banana oats (with added fun toppings too!)

IMG_7342

Or peanut butter on toast or an English muffin and a banana on the side. Don’t get me wrong, I love these foods. But I also became aware that I am probably missing out on a plethora of other amazing breakfast options!

DSCN1520

So this past weekend I scoured all my favorite food blogs and found a number of delicious looking new breakfast recipes for me to try. And today I started with a simple, so simple, yet scrumptious Cinnamon Spiced Apple Sweet Potato Breakfast Hash.

IMG_9981

This dish was so flavorful! The sweet and creamy sweet potato, the tart and crunchy apple, all drizzled with tahini was absolutely superb. I cannot wait to try some of the other recipes I’ve found and open up my breakfast world to a host of new foods!

IMG_9982

Get in the kitchen and try this wonderful breakfast today!

Cinnamon Spiced Apple Sweet Potato Breakfast Hash

Serves 1

1/2 a medium sized sweet potato baked/roasted/microwaved, and chopped

1 pink lady apple, finely chopped

1 tbsp tahini

1 tbsp chia seeds

A generous dash of cinnamon

To make this dish start by cooking your sweet potato. I did this by using a wonderful potato bag I got for Christmas to microwave my sweet potato in 6 minutes! Or if you have leftover already cooked sweet potato on hand simply warm it up and use!

Next, microwave your apple for about 1 minute, or until tender and warm.

To complete this gloriously easy, delicious, and nutritious meal, combine the sweet potato and apple into a bowl, and top with tahini, chia seeds and cinnamon. Enjoy!

To new and improved breakfasts,

Sydney

5 thoughts on “Cinnamon Spiced Apple Sweet Potato Breakfast Hash

Leave a Reply

