What I Ate Wednesday #51

Morning all! Hope this Wednesday finds you well and you are soaking up the last few days of January. I can’t believe we’re already a month into 2014 already! For this WIAW post, I’m showing all the eats from my first day back at school for the spring semester. I’m really trying to incorporate new dishes into my weekly routine, and as you’ll see my breakfast did not include peanut butter or a banana. Crazy! And crazy good.

IMG_9981

For breakfast I made a Cinnamon Spiced Apple Sweet Potato Hash, which was literally just apples, sweet potato, cinnamon, chia seeds and tahini. So good! This made me really excited for breaking out of the breakfast box even more.

IMG_9996

Since classes didn’t start until 5:00pm, I spent a leisurely breakfast reading for fun. What a concept! I started this book towards the end of my winter break and have absolutely loved it so far. I want to try and keep reading for fun a part of my normal routine even when school picks up. Even if it’s only five minutes before I go to bed each night I’d love to get in more reading.

IMG_0011

For lunch I had a piece of a butternut squash and collards pie my friend made over the weekend, it was wonderful! I had it on top of a bed of arugula and drizzled a little balsamic vinegar on top.

IMG_0014

Along with the pie I also had this banana, and dipped it in peanut butter. I just couldn’t go a whole day and not include bananas and peanut butter somehow.

IMG_0004

Later that afternoon, while finishing up my readings for class, I snacked on some of my Mom’s apple crisps. Such a treat!

IMG_0020

Since I was going to be in class all night, however, I had to find a dinner to pack that would be easy to eat during a lecture; something that would be quiet to eat (no loud crunching) and something that wouldn’t have a strong smell. I settled on a pita sandwich that ended up being quite delicious! It was a pita filled with smashed avocado, spicy hummus, tempeh and mango. I’ll definitely be making this combination again.

IMG_0024

And lastly, once I was home from class I had a little applesauce topped with some of my Mom’s homemade granola before bed. A yummy end to my first day back at school!

As always make sure to stop on over to Jen’s blog where the whole What I Ate Wednesday party got started!

TGIW,

Sydney

18 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #51

    • dindu1989 says:

      Thanks so much! It was fun trying something new and exciting that it turned out well. It is so easy, flavorful and filling that it was the perfect breakfast combination!

    • dindu1989 says:

      Thanks Nicole! I have never had sweet potato for breakfast before, and I usually have an apple as an afternoon snack as well so I’m the same in terms of normally eating these foods later in the day. I found out that they are just as delicious for breakfast!

Leave a Reply

