What I Ate Wednesday #58: Spring Break Edition!

This What I Ate Wednesday post documents eats from my spring break! I flew to Florida last week to surprise my Mom and Grandma and had a wonderful few days relaxing in the glorious sun. I graduate from my Master’s program in two short months, and thought I should take advantage of my last spring break as a student. So I booked a flight a few weeks ago and am so glad I did!

IMG_1046

For breakfast one morning we made smoothies. I posted the recipe for this nutty tropical smoothie on Monday, you’ve got to try it! It’s made of almond milk, banana, mango, oats and peanut butter.

IMG_1059

After breakfast I applied some aloe to my slightly sunburned shoulders. Have you guys ever seen an actual aloe plant? So cool!

IMG_1061

You just cut off a piece of the aloe leaf and then slice off the green outer layer. The clear inside substance is the lovely soothing aloe gel!

IMG_1062

Later that morning we headed for the beach, where I saw some amazing creatures like this crab!

IMG_1065

Did a little reading on the beach as well. Great book so far.

IMG_1036

And hydrated with some lemon sparkling water. Refreshing!

IMG_1070

We took a break from the sun midday and had lunch. I made a delicious kale salad topped with guacamole stuffed cherry tomatoes, a little salsa and ginger sesame dressing. I lined my plate with some tortilla chips and a pickle! Yum!

IMG_1076

Had a handful of grapes as well. Definitely one of my favorite fruits.

IMG_1085

Once our lunch had settled my Mom and I headed to the boardwalk for some ice cream. I chose pistachio and toasted coconut. So. Good.

IMG_1090

The winds were strong as we strolled the boardwalk, although it was 86 degrees outside my Mom and I still had goosebumps. Ha!

IMG_1100

We enjoyed the sun some more and eventually went back inside for dinner. We had delicious mushroom and artichoke pasta.

IMG_1102

And a fresh side salad.

IMG_1105

Then we went for an evening walk along the beach, and I couldn’t believe all the man-of-wars we saw! They were so beautiful. Bright blue and purple and absolutely gorgeous!

IMG_1106

The wind was still whipping across the beach and had created these beautiful ripples in the sand.

IMG_1123

My Mom and I enjoyed the view as the sun was setting. Breathtaking.

IMG_1129

And we ended the night with some key lime pie. I love you Florida, until next time!

Thanks to Jenn for hosting!

TGIW,

Sydney

4 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #58: Spring Break Edition!

Leave a Reply

