WIAW #78: Farmer’s Market Eats

Happy Wednesday! I hope your week has been off to a great start and that you’ve got something fun planned for today. It is Wednesday, after all! I’m joining in on the link-up party hosted by Jenn over at Peas and Crayons again, and I hope you enjoy my recap of last Saturday’s eats. IMG_2870 My morning started off bright and early, about 6:30 am, so my sister and I could drive to the huge farmer’s market surrounding our capitol building in Madison! Breakfast on-the-go was a peanut butter banana oat smoothie. Oldie but a goodie! IMG_2872We stopped for gas about five minutes into our trip and I was glad to see that there was hand sanitizer next to the pumps.  I was wondering what the ‘scent’ would be, and it was a bizarre, sweet minty scent that I recognized but couldn’t quite place. I thought it smelled like Tic Tacs, but my sister nailed it and said it was the smell of wintergreen Lifesavers! Have you ever had those? IMG_2888By the time we made it to the market it was already packed! I was so excited to go, as I hadn’t been to the Madison farmer’s market in four years. It is unbelievably large and has so much to offer! IMG_2878 My sister and I had a few things on our list that we knew we had to find. One of them was this amazing bread vendor that sold fresh, hot, doughy bread with a bit of gooey cheese and some heat! We remembered it from years ago and had to have it again. Luckily, it didn’t take us long to find it. Stella’s here we come! IMG_2880 We got in line quick and bought the large loaf of their famous bread. IMG_2884 We each ripped of a few hunks and munched on them on the lawn outside of the capitol. It was such a beautiful day to be out at a market! IMG_2891 We walked around a bit more, finished food shopping, and then got lost on our way back to the parking structure. We literally parked about five minutes from the market, and I think it took us about a half an hour of wandering around to find it…we pulled out a map at one point, probably looked a little lost,  and a nice girl offered us help. We proceeded to follow her directions and walked around for about 20 minutes before realizing we were going in the opposite direction. Better luck next time! Anyway, we were super hot by the time we made it to the car from lugging about 20 pounds of fresh produce and baked goods with us, so we took a short break sitting in the car and chugging water like there was no tomorrow. IMG_2892 After a we regained our energy, we headed out to find lunch! We ended up going to a Mexican restaurant on State Street, a super fun street filled with restaurants and shops. I wasn’t too hungry and decided to go with the fresh guacamole appetizer. Good decision! IMG_2895 Once we got back home that afternoon I ate half of my whole wheat dark chocolate chip scone. It was pretty amazing. Not dry and scony at all, it was moist and dense! IMG_2903 For dinner that night my sister and I went to our step-brother and sister-in-law’s house! It was a wonderful evening hanging out with them and our little niece! It’s always great spending time with family. And we had fun preparing a dish with our farmer’s market finds! We brought along this fresh salad with spinach, cilantro, yellow cherry tomatoes, raw corn, raisins, almonds and a mustard vinaigrette dressing. IMG_2909 The rest of dinner was a delicious stir-fry made with more farmer’s market goodies and roasted beets. IMG_2912 For dinner we split gluten free white chocolate chip mint cookies and chocolate cheese fudge. I had a few bites of each. Yum! I didn’t get a picture though, and once home later that night I had a spoonful of my Mom’s first batch of homemade coconut milk ice cream with dark chocolate and cherries. Heaven! IMG_2914 My sister and I watched an episode of Gilmore Girls, which I’ll never get sick of. And I finished the other half of my scone. It was a wonderful day filled with fun, fabulous food and family. Hope this weekend is just as great.


TGIW,

Sydney

8 thoughts on “WIAW #78: Farmer’s Market Eats

    • dindu1989 says:

      It was so good! It turned out great for her first time making it. I’ll have to ask my Mom for the recipe and let you know :) And definitely find a farmer’s market in your new town, it’s always worth it for some good, fresh produce!

    • dindu1989 says:

      You’ve never been to a farmer’s market!? Put it on your to-do list for this weekend if you have one in your area! They are such an amazing way to get fresh and delicious produce that’s in season. I love them :)

    • dindu1989 says:

      The bread is seriously unbelievable. I’ve got to try making my own bread at home sometime! I’m not sure I could ever re-create it but I want to give it a shot! I hope a farmer’s market finds its way to your area soon. They are so wonderful. Thanks for stopping by :)

Leave a Reply

