What I Ate Wednesday #87

Morning all! This past week has been a whirlwind for me, I’ve been busy going from one thing to the next, but all for a good reason…I just moved! Last week I moved into my very first apartment, and I absolutely adore it. It’s in a wonderful neighborhood, it’s close to work, and it’s just a few minutes from downtown and the lakefront! I’m so happy to have my own place, and want to share with you a few pictures even though I’m not quite settled in yet.

IMG_3593

This is the kitchen. The beautiful, glorious, bright and cheery, yellow kitchen. I have always wanted a yellow kitchen, and am thrilled to have one. The minute I saw this kitchen I knew it was for me. I am going to love cooking and baking in here!

IMG_3639

Look at the old sink and medicine cabinet above it!

IMG_3640

And the old cupboards and counter tops! Love it!

IMG_3614

But since What I Ate Wednesday is all about the food, I’ve got to show you my eats from yesterday as well. Breakfast was a bowl of the last few spoonfuls of plain yogurt I had on hand, a banana, some flax flake cereal, peanut butter and almond milk.

IMG_3620

While it was a tasty breakfast it was not all that filling, and I was snacking on pretzels soon after getting to work.

IMG_3615

For lunch I had a wonderful salad: arugula, sweet potato, black beans, sunflower seeds and drizzled with olive oil and BBQ sauce.

IMG_3618

Had a doughy roll on the side. Heaven.

IMG_3619

That afternoon I snacked on one of the last organic honey crisp apples that my sister and I picked a few weekends ago. They are so delicious and I am sad to say that apple picking at that orchard is now over. Looking forward to next year already!

IMG_3626

After work I went for a walk in my new neighborhood and enjoyed the cool, crisp, fresh, fall air. Leaves were crunching under my feet and it was perfectly peaceful. I can’t wait to go for more walks in my new hood before the snow falls! I stopped at a local bakery on my way and picked up this pumpkin roll to have for dessert. Yum!

IMG_3629

But before I dug into the pumpkin roll dinner was in store. This was actually one of the first dishes I made at my new place. It was a veggie and quinoa burrito seasoned with oregano, nutritional yeast and cayenne pepper. Topped with some pea shoots, salsa and tahini, it was phenomenal!

IMG_3636

I also had a pear with the burrito.

IMG_3638

A handful of raisins were consumed as well.

After more unpacking that night I took a break to try my treat and catch up on the episode of Parenthood I missed last week. Man I love that show. Hope your night was as swell as mine!

Make sure to stop on over to Jenn’s page to see where this WIAW party all began!

TGIW,

Sydney

 

4 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #87

Leave a Reply

