Lunchbox Series Part 4: Black Rice, Mushroom, Squash and Sun-dried Tomato Salad

I’m back with another installment for the Lunchbox Series! Today I am sharing a simple and delicious meal that I enjoyed a few times for lunch last week.

IMG_0220

This is a Black Rice, Mushroom, Squash and Sun-dried Tomato Salad! To make this dish I prepped the bulk of the ingredients on the weekend so I had everything ready to throw together for lunch throughout the week.

IMG_0222

Black Rice, Mushroom, Squash and Sun-dried Tomato Salad

Serves 4

1 cup black rice (uncooked)

Spice blend of choice to add to the rice (~1/2 tbsp)

1 medium/large acorn squash

10 0z. cremini mushrooms

1/2 cup of sun-dried tomatoes

Olive oil

Balsamic vinegar

I started by roasting an acorn squash (cut in half) for about 4o minutes at 400 degrees.

Then I cooked 1 cup of black rice with 2 cups of water and some spices.

I also sautéed about 10 oz. of chopped mushrooms to add to the mix as well. This was all prep that I completed on the weekend.

Then, throughout the week, I created a big salad with arugula, squash, black rice, sautéed mushrooms, and sun-dried tomatoes. I dressed the salad with some olive oil and balsamic vinegar and called it a day! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

