What I Ate Wednesday #105

Welcome to another week of What I Ate Wednesday! I can’t believe Wednesday is here again already, but I am happy that it is because that means we are slowly inching our way towards Spring! I cannot wait to be warm again. I haven’t been warm for like six months. And my poor circulation really doesn’t care for the cold, this is my finger (white because it is completely numb) after walking from my car into work with gloves on!

IMG_0528

I think I need to move somewhere more like this!

IMG_0918

But until then, or until Wisconsin decides it is time for Spring, I’ll be warming myself up with some delicious meals. Like this cozy bowl of oatmeal. 1/3 cup of oats, 1/3 cup of water and 1/3 cup of coconut milk brought to a boil in a small sauce pan, then add in chia seeds, cinnamon, a ripe banana and cook on low for another 5 minutes or so. At the end I added in some more water and two tbsp of almond butter. I like the consistency of my oats to be a little thinner, more porridge like.

IMG_0632

Midmorning at work I snacked on some homemade granola, which was amazing. I don’t know why it took me so long to make a homemade batch of granola, but now that I’ve got one under my belt I can’t wait to experiment with other varieties. Since it was the day after Valentines Weekend someone at work left a bunch of chocolates in the lunchroom. And they were dark chocolate so I had to snag one!

IMG_0646

Lunch was another comforting meal! Such a great way to perk up the workday. It was a veggie curry dish served over kale and brown rice. The recipe came from the Oh She Glows cookbook. Love her and her recipes!

IMG_0633

Along with the curry I ate this leftover fruit salad that I had prepared for a work event on Saturday. It was a mix of pineapple, kiwi, grapefruit and pomegranate arils. Yum! The snap peas didn’t actually get eaten that day, I put them back in the work fridge and saved them for the next day.

IMG_0641

Late afternoon at work I snacked on an english muffin with tahini and cherry preserves. A sweet, savory, and satisfying combo!

IMG_0651

After work I went home and made myself some chai tea. So much more cost effective than buying a cup of chai from the coffee shop!

IMG_0654

I also had a handful of this cereal. It was a new box and I had to open it up and try it! The verdict: it was okay. I definitely prefer this brand’s cinnamon squares cereal. That stuff is heavenly.

IMG_0655

Dinner was a big plate of veggies, grains and fruit! I roasted some cauliflower, sautéed kale, asparagus, mushrooms and onions, and cooked up some quinoa. All together is was wonderful. And I also had a few orange slices on the side.

IMG_0661

I was in the mood to bake and decided that night to make some chocolate banana bread. This version is vegan, gluten free, super moist and cakey. I had only a few taste-testing bites after I pulled it out of the oven because I was actually quite full. But I’m looking forward to warming up a slice and slathering it with pb tonight!

IMG_0666

Thank you again to Jenn for hosting this get together!

TGIW,

Sydney

4 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #105

    • dindu1989 says:

      Oh no! You’ve got that issue too? Bummer! And there doesn’t seem to be much we can really do about it except move to the tropics :) And thanks, Happy Wednesday to you too!

Leave a Reply

