What I Ate Wednesday #112!

Morning all! And happy Wednesday to you! Hope you had a wonderful start to your week and that you’re looking forward to seeing everyone’s eats. Today I’m sharing what I ate this past Saturday, a beautiful spring day I spent up in Green Bay visiting my Dad and Stepmom. I got up Saturday morning and had breakfast before the drive. I had a gluten, soy, and dairy-free english muffin with crunchy almond butter and a banana. The english muffin was okay, it had a bit of a spongy texture and even though I toasted it extra long it never really got crispy…

IMG_5414

Once I made it to GB it was warming up a bit and was nice and sunny so I decided to stop and grab a coconut chai tea latte at Starbucks. Apparently I wasn’t the only one with the same idea! I’ve never seen this many people at the drive through at my hometown Starbucks.

IMG_5416

I got an iced chai this time, subconsciously hoping that by ordering a cold drink warmer temps will follow!

IMG_5419

I was so excited to find a patch of sun that was blocked from the wind in our backyard that I decided to soak it up for a few minutes. Glorious sun, I cannot wait to feel your warmth on a regular basis!

IMG_5421

Lunch was a massaged kale salad with sweet potato, quinoa and two types of hummus. I massaged the raw kale with some olive oil and mango balsamic vinegar and it was luscious!

IMG_5425

Mid afternoon snack was a homemade Almond Butter Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookie. Gluten, dairy, and soy-free! I have to say these were the best baked goods I’ve made so far since experimenting with gluten-free baking. Yum!

IMG_5430

I spent most of the day helping my Dad and Stepmom pack up some things (they’ll be moving down south in the near future), but we all took a nice break for dinner. My Grandma joined us for the meal and the Final Four Badgers game that night! Dinner was a veggie burger crumbled on top of more massaged kale, with a side of roasted cauliflower, chickpeas and olives. So tasty!

IMG_5451

I had one more of my cookies that night with the Badgers game, and then went to bed happy as we made it to the national championship game! Sadly it didn’t go as well for us Monday night. Better luck next year!

Thanks again to Jenn for hosting this shindig!

TGIW,

Sydney

 

6 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #112!

    • dindu1989 says:

      I can’t believe how much more enjoyable raw kale is once it has been massaged! I love it! The crunchy AB is okay, I prefer creamy myself, but they were out at the grocery store. I did use it to bake the cookies and liked using it for that recipe to give the cookies a nice little crunch :)

    • dindu1989 says:

      Bring on summer! I’m not a coffee drinker but I’ve had the chai with coconut milk a few times now and really enjoyed it. Next time you stop by I’d give it a try :)

Leave a Reply

