Vegan Chocolate Raspberry Ice Cream Float

Last week, on a particularly hot day, I was trying to think of all the different ice-cold smoothie combinations I’d like to try. My foundation for smoothies is generally a frozen banana and coconut milk, then I add in all types of fruits, nut butters, maybe some greens and spices like cinnamon. But on that day, I was craving more of a chocolate shake than a smoothie.

IMG_6527

Then all of the sudden I got to thinking about how good root beer floats were growing up as a kid. That cool, frothy foam on top of the sweet ice cream treat, heaven! But now I don’t really drink soda, and I didn’t have any ice cream on hand, but I did have some frozen fruit and seltzer water…I thought that might do the trick! I figured you just needed some carbonation to create the yummy, fizzy top layer of a float, so I went into the kitchen with a few ideas and came out with a Vegan Chocolate Raspberry Ice Cream Float!

IMG_6517

Such a delicious chocolatey treat! The raspberry flavor was subtle, but it sure gave the float a beautiful, deep red hue. So what are you waiting for? Get into your kitchen and make this healthy and just as satisfying take on an ice cream float!

Vegan Chocolate Raspberry Ice Cream Float

Serves 2

1 frozen banana, not very ripe when frozen

1/3 cup of frozen raspberries

1 cup of chocolate cashew milk

2/3 cup of seltzer water

To make these floats combine the banana, raspberries and cashew milk in a blender until thick and creamy.

Divide into two glasses, and pour 1/3 a cup of seltzer water over each. Watch it fizz before your very eyes, and enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Vegan Chocolate Raspberry Ice Cream Float

    • dindu1989 says:

      Thanks! I don’t ever drink cow’s milk anymore so I’ve tried a lot of different nut-based milks over the years. This is the first time I’ve had cashew milk and I really liked the chocolate kind in this ice cream float!

Leave a Reply

