Homemade Dinner Rolls

Happy Thursday everyone! This week has been flying by for me with all my new classes. I’ve now had Biostatistics and Epidemiology, both of which I think will be much better than expected! Again, super cool professors. I got very lucky this semester. And tonight will be my last new class, Food Policy, which I imagine is going to be one of the greatest classes ever. In all of history.

IMG_2420

Here are the textbooks for the class. Yep, the stuff I read for fun is now going to be considered an assignment. Love it.

Anyway, I’ll report back more on that once I actually have the class! For now, enjoy your Thursday with some of these homemade rolls I posted about last week.

IMG_2153These rolls are of a very dense, but moist texture. I used a little cornmeal in them so they are sort of like a dense cornbread muffin. Yum! My favorite way to eat these was warmed up in the microwave and then topped with some jelly. So good.

IMG_2136

You’ll want to set aside a good 2 hours or so to make these rolls. It is such a nice, relaxing and methodical process. I look forward to baking and kneading more homemade bread in the future. A lovely way to start your morning if you have the time!

Homemade Dinner Rolls

Makes 8 rolls

Recipe adapted from Eat Live Run

1 cup of almond milk

1 package yeast

2 cups of all purpose flour

1/2 cup ground cornmeal

1/2 tsp sea salt

A tiny pinch of sugar

Let’s start the process! Begin by heating the milk in a small sauce pan so the milk becomes “warmish-hot.” There is probably much more of a science to it than this, but that’s what the recipe called for said so I just judged the temp as good as I could with the old pointer finger.

Then pour the almond milk into a bowl and add the yeast and sugar. Let it dissolve for about 5 minutes. I had to stir it a bit at the end to make sure it was all completely dissolved.

Next, add in the flour, cornmeal and salt and mix. Form the dough into a ball and set the bowl in a warm place (covered with plastic wrap) for thirty minutes. The dough needs time to rise.

Once your thirty minutes are up, knead the dough on a floured surface for a couple of minutes. I just kept kneading until the dough was very elastic and smooth.

Divide the dough into eight portions, and then form those portions into balls. Place the rolls on the baking sheet, cover in plastic wrap, and let rise for another 30 minutes.

As the rolls are rising, preheat your oven to 425 degrees. And when they are ready, place in the oven and bake for about 8-10 minutes. Until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Bam. Homemade dinner rolls. Enjoy!

Kneading is therapeutic,

Sydney

Leave a comment